We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want to go again!!”
Review of The American Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The American Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“want to go again!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I cant't say enough about how great our stays have been st Kohler. This year was our second trip, after having a great anniversary trip last year. We stayed at the Carriage House both times and highly recommed it. The service is perfect. Too many examples to list all but one of the most impressive was when I visited the spa retail store and was looking for a mineral soak- which was not unpacked from the earlier shipment. I was diasappointed but understood. Shortly after I went back to the room, a spa assistant hand delivered enough for a bath she had gotten from the spa. Constant attention to detail, gracious staff, and quiet, peaceful and updated facilities make this the best spa in the midwest. Meals were all solid. We enjoyed Whistling Straits this year and were not disappointed. We stayed in a carriage house suite and loved the private river bath. Such a luxury. A small money- saving tip is to look for deals on Spa Finder gift cards, which are accepted by the spa. Costco often has $100 cards for $75/$80, which is a nice savings if you buy enough for several treatments. Also, the SF website has deals at Christmas and Mother' s Day. We are already thinking of our next trip...

Room Tip: We have stayed in a deluxe room at the Carriage House - I think it was called the Bob Sleigh and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear KMitch71,

Thank you for returning to our resort. Truly the best commendation a guest can provide it to return. You are correct, our website details out specials, packages and upcoming events. Thank you for sharing this. We empower our team to delight our guests. It is so enjoyable to read about our spa attendant delivering the mineral soak for you to enjoy!

We look forward to your return.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    144
    69
    40
    22
See reviews for
89
475
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The American Club is charming and well situated.
The room are spacious and as you can expect being in Kolher, the bathroom are outstanding.
If you are a golfer, do not mist to book a game at Whistling Straits which is 15 minutes from the hotel by shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucgbenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Lucgbenoit,

Thank you for the kind review of our resort and bathrooms. Each guestroom category has a different showering experience. Many of our guests enjoy trying different guestroom categories for just that reason! I hope you played well at Whistling Straits.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great facilities. Overall, nice people, but it's entirely up to each individual rather than an organization-wide guarantee that your service will be top-notch. For what you pay here, everything should be perfect.

WARNING: If you play Whistling Straits, expect a five-and-a-half hour round! Drive if you can - don't take the shuttle or you will be stuck there waiting for it (every hour on the half hour).

Great food, but the seafood buffet on Friday night at the Wisconsin room is a bust. It's tempting, but not worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed at the The American Club, so I can't comment on other rooms, but it was wonderful. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 778AndrewG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear 778AndrewG,

Could not agree more that every interaction our guests have should be perfect. Please accept my apology for any experiences you received that were not exceptional. You are correct, our shuttles driving to Whistling Straits leave the resort at the top of the hour and return at the bottom of the hour. For guests who prefer driving it is a very simple route and our team is very happy to provide maps.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was a stopover for us on our way to Door County. We knew that it is primarily a golf location, but we wanted to stay in a nice place. We stayed two nights and that was enough. Of course if you play golf, a longer stay is needed. The building is decorated and maintained superbly. Each and every staff is friendly and helpful. The food in the Immigrant was very good. In a hall down from the lobby are archived articles and photos that are very interesting and tell the history of the "hotel". We visited the Kohler Design Center and a few stores on the property, there weren't many stores. We also walked and rode the horse pulled wagon around the town of Kohler. The town is kept extremely neat and clean. You would think you are on a movie set, the homes are very modest and looks like a great place to raise a family. I think we will always make this a stop to Wisconsin and Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaeli01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Michaeli01,

Thank you for making our resort a place to visit while you head to Door County. As you know, we are just minutes off the highway! The Village takes great pride in maintaining all the homes and buildings. It is a very lovely place to raise a family.

Our team looks forward to your return.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My title says it all. I have grown up around The American Club and have utilized almost very aspect of this place that I can think of. The staff is just amazing, some of the nicest people I've met in hospitality. I always look forward to going to The American Club even if it is to just walk around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear matt s,

Thank you for paying such a lovely compliment to our team. I couldn’t agree more! They are truly the real diamonds and stars at our resort.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Indiana
Level Contributor
261 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Golf spa and great food await you here at the American Club. We played 72 holes of golf while our wives enjoyed the spa and design center. We highly recommend this midwest resort for pampering and a wonderful couples retreat!




Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HoosierDady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear HoosierDady,

Thank you kindly for recommending our resort. It is always a pleasure to read about guests who visit and enjoy, his, hers and together time!

We hope you are able to return for a second round in the future.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We wanted to tour the Kohler Factory and stayed here. Unfortunately, we are not golfers. This review is to caution travelers not to stay here unless you want to play golf. There is very little else to do at the resort.
That said, the American Club is lavish and beautiful with prices to match. We should have stayed in a less expensive place because we are not golfers.
The rooms are comfortable, especially the bathroom, which you would expect of a place owned by the largest bathroom fixture manufacturer in America.
Maybe the golf is fantastic, but the food and rest of the place are not. We spent more time driving to Sheboygan to eat and visit the art museum, walk around the river and find local treats. Not much to do at the American Club. The history and village of Kohler is interesting but not worth a stay of more than a day.

Room Tip: Not a good value for money unless you get discounted or free golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlorafromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear FlorafromHawaii,

You are correct, during the summer golf is our most popular activity and a lot of our guests visit us to golf. I would like to apologize, our concierge team is well trained on the activities we offer across our resort. Guests should be able to visit our concierge team and leave with more ideas than time allows! If you would honor us with a return visit, I am confident the team would be able to customize your stay and ensure you have a full agenda. We are appreciative of your feedback, to help our team grow.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
3.5 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
13.4 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
9.8 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Club

Property: The American Club
Address: 419 Highland Dr, Kohler, WI 53044-1514
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Club 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
The American Club Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing