We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our espectations”
Review of The American Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The American Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
sonoma county, calif
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“exceeded our espectations”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We spent a wonderful 3 days at the American Club in Kohler over the 4th of July Holiday. We went because we had read about the great golf courses associated with the hotel. The golf was as good as advertised but what really impressed us was the high level of service and hospitality at all levels. We like less formal dining for the most part so we ate at the golf clubhouses which did not disappoint. The main hotel is not a ultra modern glass and steel type but rather a classic style. the room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor and looked out onto the courtyard.
They also operate a efficient shuttle service which will take you to any of their locations, so we parked the car upon arrival and the next time we used it was when we left. The American Club is expensive but it is all about value for the expense and our feeling is they deliver on all counts.

Helpful?
3 Thank rouelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    147
    70
    40
    22
See reviews for
90
478
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

This was my favorite 4th of July ever. Where better to go than The American Club to celebrate our nation's independence? We booked a standard room and played the River, Irish and Straits courses during our stay. We ate in the Wisconsin Room, the Whistling Straits clubhouse and the Green House. I also went to the spa for a massage. And, we attended the fabulous 4th of July celebration in the nearby park.

This is a great place to get away from it all. The room was very nice - very comfortable bed and a special bathroom with a beautiful jacuzzi tub in the shower. The courses were quite lovely. The only complaint is that our caddie on the Straits course was rushing us quite a bit and sometimes gave longer yardages than were accurate. I would not pay full price for the Straits course in the future. The food was wonderful. We had dinner and breakfast in the Wisconsin Room, and both times it was delicious. They were a bit understaffed for breakfast on the morning of the 5th, but our busboy took good care of us. The Green House bakery selections for breakfast is very limited, but what we had was delicious. And don't miss their ice cream! The massage at the spa was great, as were the special deluxe shower, the jacuzzi, and the pool. It's definitely worth a visit!

Best of all was the 4th of July celebration in the nearby park. A large band (maybe 40-50 pieces) played American favorites in the bandshell, local police or fire department sold food, drinks and snacks, the place was filled with young families, and the fireworks were quite impressive, especially with the band playing patriotic favorites to accompany the show! In addition, before the fireworks display, a member of each branch of the military brought forward his / her flag, and while the band played the song for that particular branch of the military, everyone in the audience who had served or was currently serving in that branch was invited to stand, and a spotlight spanned the audience while they were applauded for their service.

All I can say is, the American Club 4th of July is so much better than Chicago's! If you love your country, this is a great place for celebrating the 4th while enjoying a special experience for golf and the spa.

  • Liked — 4th of July outdoor celebration and great golf
  • Disliked — Snobby caddy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank operaisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We spent a great three nights/four days at The American Club and enjoyed every minute of it. We selected a golf package called the "To Dye Fore" package and played golf on all four of the resort courses, 2 at Black Wolf Run... the River Course and the Meadow Valley Course and 2 at Whistling Straits... the Irish Course and the Straits Course along Lake Michigan. Because it was May the weather was a little cool on two of the days, but we were bright enough to bring the proper clothing and dress for the weather well enough that we were warm and the courses were so nice we were happy to be there. All four courses are wonderful. The Irish and Straits courses are BRILLIANT. The package included caddies at Whistling Straits, and I have never been so happy to have a nelwy made friend show me around a new course. Spectacular vistas and mind boggling bunker filled fairways are seen at nearly every turn. A wonderful test of golf. No wonder the PGA likes to return there every so often.

The American Club is a First Class operation. We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. It was bright and airy with a very comfortable bed and a very nice bathroom with a great soaker tub with airjets. Very clean and full of ammenities. Check-in was a breeze and Valet Parking is Complimentary and had really quick return time when you wanted your car... always nice.

We had lunch and breakfast at the courses, both had lovely buffet offerings for breakfast and lunch and the quality was really pretty good and it was affordable. One day, we checked in for golf and the Proshop attendant gave us a 50% off certificate for the breakfast buffet in the dining room, another nice surprise. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful.

For our first night's dinner we went to the Horse and Plow and enjoyed some pub style treats that were better than I had expected and reasonably priced. The second evening we tried the Immigrant Room, which was very good. Gentlemen need to bring a coat to dine here. It is a very nice restaurant with a several smaller rooms allowing for pricacy if needed. Nicely decorated. Great menu selections and wonderful service. We had a very nice evening and will certainly go back again if we make it back to Kohler, and I hope we do. The Wisconsin room was our final meal at the American Club, and we enjoyed it very much also. A grand dining room with wonderful service also. Again, the people in Kohler are very friendly and nice.

Expensive, yes... but worth every penney. I had a great trip and really hope to make it back to enjoy it all again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daytripp-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed at the American Club for the first time as a weekend getaway in April 2008. The resort is very beautiful, although in the spring activities are rather limited. In the future if we return we would go during the summer and take advantage of all the outdoor activities Kohler has to offer. However, the springtime rate couldn't be beat.

Very friendly service from the entire staff. We were celebrating my fiance's birthday so the front desk provided us with complimentary champagne. Our room was average, but the bathroom of course was outstanding. I would have expected our room to have been cleaner in such a highly rated hotel; underneath the TV armoire was a thick layer of dust. The room could also use some updating.

The best part of our visit was the food. We highly recommend Cucina which is within easy walking distance. The food was very flavorful and our server was friendly and knowledgeable in recommending wine. Horse and Plow was a good place for lunch; we also watched sports in the bar. Surprisingly they still have tube TVs which was disappointing, but hopefully soon they will upgrade to flat panels! Sunday brunch in the Wisconsin Room is a must – the food is out of this world and even reasonably priced at only $27 per person!

  • Liked — Service & Food
  • Disliked — Cleanliness & Lack of Things to do in the Springtime
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarriorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed here the night after our wedding on a "minimoon" of sorts while we wait for our big trip. We stayed in the Carriage House so that we'd be close to the Waters Spa. I have to say that the service we received was absolutely top notch. Everybody is essentially falling over themselves to be sure that your needs are met. Our room was beautiful as were the grounds. Sure, the place is expensive, but the service and the quality of the property justify the price in my opinion.

We also had dinner at the Wisconsin Room in the main building which was nothing short of spectacular. I would definately recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We recently stayed at the American Club for 5 days of golf and spa. I don't understand some of the negative reviews; we live in New York, both work for Fortune 500 companies and have had the great privilege to travel the world and stay in spectacular hotels. I do wonder if some folks are just looking for something to go wrong so that they can write about it.

Our check-in was flawless. I will say that learning the layout of the property took a day. Lots of elevators; some don't go to the lobby floor. I was okay with that, I was on vacation and actually giggled at how I can ride NY Transit with my eyes closed but couldn't immediately navigate a property in Wisconsin!

Our room was lovely. Very much in character with the property. I wasn't looking for, nor would we have enjoyed, a modern furnished room. Our room was rustic, in a 5 star sort of way. Spotless. Toiletries were top notch, from their Waters Spa. Appreciated the flexibility with turndown service; some nights we were tired and wanted to go to sleep earlier. One call to housekeeping and turndown was adjusted to meet our schedule.

Hubby loved the golf courses. I don't golf, so I spa'd everyday. I found the spa to be clean, and the staff well-trained and professional. I enjoyed all the water-centric treatments. Very relaxing.

The Club offers free shuttle service, 24 hours a day, and on demand, if necessary, throughout the Village of Kohler. Much appreciated and once again just what we would expect from a 5 star resort. I never had to open a door; the doormen were always on top of their game, as I descended the lobby stairs, both front doors were opened for me before I even reached them.

We personally appreciated that the staff wasn't "in your face". You knew they were there if you needed them, but they didn't make their presence a cornerstone of your stay. Loved the grounds . . .flowers were beautiful and looked forward to a hot chocolate in the garden every morning.

The American Club and its golf courses and spa are pricey. I don't understand the surprise from some of the reviewers. This is a 5 star resort. It is inherently expensive, whether it be a cup of coffee or a 5 course meal. If you're not open to that, it's best you don't stay here. Save yourself the aggravation.

Another plus was the complimentary coffee in the library in the mornings, and afternoon tea. Both served on lovely china.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The American Club and highly recommend it to golf and spa affeciados!

  • Liked — Consistent 5 star service!
  • Disliked — Took one day to navigate the property.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mny_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Three couples stayed 2 nights at the American Club to celebrate a birthday. Check-in was fine and we got an upgrade, for a reduced price, as they misunderstood that it was MY birthday! The other 2 couples all had tired rooms and one had to ask to be moved 3 times. Remember this is NOT an inexpensive place to stay. The guys played golf and had a super time. The gals went to the Spa. We had a super time with a couple of exceptions. We ordered lunch at the spa. The spinach salad was so bad none of us could eat it. In addition, it had a carrot type of puree dressing that was awful! We sent it back. Next one of the gals had a cold soup. It was too tart and she gave up on lunch. The other two of us had "raps" and they were fine. In the end, they comped our lunch. Massages by Margie were the BEST any of us ever had. The biggest problem with the SPA was that although we'd been told of a 10% discount for services and goods bought, NONE of us got it. We later figured it out and the 10% was deducted. Dinner at the Immigrant Room was beautiful but of the 6 meals ordered, only 1 person had anything good to say about the food! Wine prices were out of this world! CHECK YOUR BILL WHEN YOU LEAVE!!! Of the three couples, each bill had been overcharged! WOW, it took all three couples between 30-45 minutes to get it straighted out before we left. The final straw was that as we were debating our bill, another person next to us was having the same discussion! What is going on with that??? To end on a good note however, the gal with the birthday had been given extra treats at the Spa and everyone in the resort told her "Happy Birthday"!

  • Liked — The common area are outstanding....golf, spa personnel, the inside and outside plantings, etc.
  • Disliked — Rooms were tired, VERY expensive and not tasty food. Drink was outrageous!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jhb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
0.3 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
276 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
114 reviews
3.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Club

Property: The American Club
Address: 419 Highland Dr, Kohler, WI 53044-1514
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Club 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
The American Club Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing