We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway”
Review of Karsten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karsten Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Kewaunee B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and i visited for a wedding in early fall. we loved the hotel.The room was big and comfortable, but we really like the charming atmosphere of the older, but updated hotel. The lobby was really nice and welcoming. The bar was classic, old world design, very nice place to chat with other guests. The front desk help were great. The town and lakefront were just blocks away so it made for a great, relaxing walking weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

I've got to tell ya, we never anticipated the wonderful atmosphere, comfort, friendliness, relaxation, great food, reasonable prices --- when we booked the Kewaunee Inn on a recent Harley trip.

We actually stayed a second night to hang with the others in the Inn and visit in the community. They even offered to put our bike in an event hall adjacent to the Inn.

Sitting on the front porch for food and drinks was the best.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotaryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Excellent menu and wine list; I was shocked. Fantastic steak for under 15 bucks. My wife loved a salad with apples and my kids had paninis, which I tasted - best I have ever had.

They had +/- 40 wines on the wine list; some really great one's I know from home, but at half the price. Both the food and wine was so inexpensive, I can not see how they offer such good fare for so little. They have only been open a month, so that might change.

There is a sidewalk cafe and a rally cool open porch - that's where we ate. It has a view of Lake Michigan and the cute harbor.

We did not stay in the hotel but it looks great; we are definately coming back to a visit. The town is very charming and the Inn offers guided bike trips and canoe, kayak trips on the river.

This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fooddydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We visited in June 2009, and much to our joy the town was very quiet. There were only a few people in the hotel and it's possible they hadn't ramped up for the tourist season.

This is obviously an old hotel and they have managed to maintain much of the old world charm with their choice of chairs, fireplace and furnishings in the foyer, and maintained the feel into the room (we stayed in Rm301). There was plenty of wood (floors, bed frame, cabinet). The bed was comfortable, and the room was small but adequate. One of the curtains was missing, which was a pain and the TV didn't work at all, but otherwise
it was in good working order.

The menu for the downstairs bistro didn't match what was in the room, which disappointed us, and the continental breakfast was disappointing too (a pastry and coffee).

The quietness of the town made this a nice little retreat and the charm of the place helped us escape mentally. Hopefully the restaurant picks up at some stage and it continues to charm when it's busier.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psi2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Sorry to see no rooms available this weekend; we want to go back. Restaurant is now open; we were there last weekend. Excellent food beautiful dining room and bar area, one block from beach and harbor on Lake Michigan

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We met some friends up there... Hit the town and had a blast. Best thing was that we slept in later than we have in a long time b/c our bed and room was so comfortable. I would defintely recommend going up there. Also... go do some wine tastings at the surrounding vinyards. Fun weekend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajperki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed with several friends Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. The staff and new owners are fascinating. It was also the opening weekend of their new Bistro. The food was very good, espically the Asian Salad, and the wine selection was the best I have found in the Kewaunee and southern Door County area. There are still some renovations going on which should be completed soon, including a covered outdoor pation/dining area, with a great view of the lake and Kewaunee harbor. We'll go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Civitas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kewaunee hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lights Lodge
Harbor Lights Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kewaunee
41 reviews
1 mi away
Coho Motel
Coho Motel
#1 of 2 in Kewaunee
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kewaunee Village RV Park
Kewaunee Village RV Park
#1 of 2 in Kewaunee
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karsten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karsten Hotel

Address: 122 Ellis St, Kewaunee, WI 54216-1004 (Formerly Kewaunee Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kewaunee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kewaunee
Price Range: $90 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karsten Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karsten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewaunee Hotel Kewaunee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing