We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed..”
Review of Karsten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karsten Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Kewaunee B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Was looking forward to staying here and was very disappointed from the moment we checked in. Randy wasn't very friendly or personable. We tried to strike up a conversation and got a look like we were talking a foreign language. After we were given our key, never told we're our room was located or anything about the continental breakfast was or times. Only told about how great their pizza was in the bar. We had others plans for dinner since we were celebrating a late Anniversary. So we go to find our room no numbers to direct you on which way to go but did find our room. Thought it was change that all the rooms had there doors open. Apparently they don't clean the used rooms after someone stayed there. Quite a few with used beds. Still that way when we left the next morning. Our room was right above the bar, out of all the deluxe rooms they have and looking like 2 maybe 3 others staying there you'd think they would put you in another room. No so we got to hear the loud jukebox and very bad karaoke until about midnight. It was so loud it over powered the Tv we had on. As far as the room, it was comfortable minus the pillows, way to flat for my liking. Jacuzzi would never use. Doesn't look like the jets were ever cleaned full of black mold. Because they state they have toiletries I didn't bring shampoo/conditioner. Good thing my husband did otherwise I'd be using bar soap, they put lotion on the tub instead of shampoo. Hairdryer they have really needs to be updated the little air that comes out takes you forever to dry your hair. We stayed here 11 years ago when it was The Karsten Inn and had the German restaurant and really enjoyed our stay then. Accommodations were better and the owners more friendlier. Probably won't be coming back to stay here again. A lot of other places that charge you less and have better service.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank chrisp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to check in front desk said place had ghosts. I blew it away. In the middle of the night, someone tried to get in room by turning door handle. I went to check and no one was there. Then I heard walking needless to say I never slept. Made my next day at work suck. Take it for what its worth. I'm not staying here ever again. It even happened two the other travelers in other rooms that were on my trip.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Flytying1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were in Green Bay for a college basketball game and stayed overnight at The Kewaunee Inn. (Packers had a game scheduled; all rooms in G-B were booked.)

Admittedly, it's one of the largest Bed & Breakfast establishments I've stayed in. The hotel is quite comfortable. The room was basic with decorations reflecting nature. It was no-frills, but that was expected. Two double beds, a desk, night table, full bath and nice pedestal sink. I had read reviews about the noise and was prepared with my earplugs. As a light sleeper, they definitely came in handy.

Breakfast was simple - juices, coffee, muffins, cold cereal and pancakes/waffles upon request. Staff was friendly; we felt quite welcomed.

When I'm in the area, I'll return to The Kewaunee Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iluv2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having lived in the surrounding area nearly a half century ago... it was more than wonderful to return with a nights-stay at the former Karsten Hotel. The age of the hotel dates back to 1912 and has maintained much of its original decor. We found the entrance and the appealing lobby area to be most inviting and very well-kept. Being a chilly, autumn evening, we felt welcomed with a glowing fire. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. Our room was on the second floor and was very clean and quaintly furnished. As we walked the hallways on the third floor, it felt as welcoming. The bar area retains its originality, as well as the dining area. The continental breakfast was of good variety with fresh fruit, juices, milk, coffee, cold cereal, yogurt and several choices of home-made muffins. Our host, Mike, was humorous and offered much information. The hotel has had a number of owners over the past century and the present ownership is doing a fantastic job! A limousine service is offered for weddings, anniversaries, school functions and for trips to the Green Bay Packer games! I would highly recommend a stay here, as the hotel is as interesting as the city itself! No... we did not have any ghost experiences, as some of the reviews have stated! We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: The rooms on the East side of the building offer a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having exhausted any chance of getting a hotel in Green Bay for the game, we trolled the internet and found the Kewaunee Inn. I am so glad we did. The price was very affordable and the hotel was full of great history. As we entered, we saw a beautiful lobby area. The young man at the desk got us checked in quickly and we went to room 207. It was a corner room -- very large and nicely decorated. The bed itself was firm (the way we like it) but the pillows were a little flat and hard. After we checked in we went to the bar for a beer and found out that they offer a limo service to the game! The price was good ($50 each, which included admission to the Bart Starr VIP Party featuring all the food and drink one could consume in 2 hours) and we didn't have to deal with parking and the mess of driving back to the hotel. The hotel is old and so you can hear all sorts of noises -- bring earplugs -- but that's to be expected. The breakfast was probably our biggest disappointment. We got to the breakfast area about 9:30 and there were only a few muffins left. Hmmmm. We had coffee and then a few more items were brought out, but not much. We didn't hear or see any ghosts, but were able to visit some of the haunted rooms and areas of the hotel. The lake is just 2 blocks away and we enjoyed walking along the beach. Overall, I really liked the Kewaunee Inn and would recommend it!

Room Tip: We had room 207 - corner room with King bed and whirlpool. Not all rooms are as big. Room 310 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Breakfast cooked to order, beautiful views of Lake Michigan. Close to Green Bay for Packers game (from Cleveland) today against the Browns. Went up into Door County for awesome fall views! The Clearing(Ellison Bay) was a very nice 2 hour walking tour that was stunning! Fish hatchery in Kewaunee was neat too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just returned from our road trip to Door County and returned via Kewaunee yesterday. What a wonderful hotel, Décor is A +- the staff friendly and personable. They were truly a "Pet Friendly" Hotel and welcomed my two little dogs. We were able to sit on the historic porch and have a wonderful pancake/egg breakfast in the morning. Everyone treated us like they truly were happy we were staying there and what could they do to make our stay better...Highly recommend !!!
As a side note- this is a relaxing retreat- in October there was not much too see or do in town- as I believe it is the end of the "season" - Shops were closed.

Room Tip: I hear the corner rooms are larger-we didn't have such a room, but felt very comfortable. The In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewaunee
22.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
148 reviews
21.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Green Bay East
22.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Green Bay East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coho Motel
Coho Motel
#1 of 2 in Kewaunee
35 reviews
18.5 mi away
Harbor Lights Lodge
Harbor Lights Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kewaunee
41 reviews
9.0 mi away
at the Waters Edge
at the Waters Edge
#2 of 3 in Algoma
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karsten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karsten Hotel

Address: 122 Ellis St, Kewaunee, WI 54216-1004 (Formerly Kewaunee Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kewaunee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kewaunee
Price Range: $90 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karsten Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Karsten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewaunee Hotel Kewaunee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing