We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun German food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Gerhard

House of Gerhard
Ranked #6 of 249 Restaurants in Kenosha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fun German food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is one of those ones you stop at that is bizarre in so many ways, but cool. The sausages were great. The accompaniments were interesting. The staff dresses in traditional German clothing. We were on the road, it was an absurdly hot Indian summer, and we stopped here. We were under dressed, but no one seemed to care. It was mostly locals celebrating various special events, most dressed up semi-formal.

It was a fun place. I don't eat meat anymore, but if I did, I would stop back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackknive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    44
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“German Restaurant For Americans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

As an American with German heritage, I loved the quaint atmosphere, good food and friendly staff. My German colleagues however rated the authenticity as average. However we keep going back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have traveled to Germany many times and could never find a decent German restaurant in the area. We are so thankful to have stumbled across this place. The food is truly a taste of Germany. The employees are always friendly and treat us like family. We visited House of Gerhard six years ago. Since our first visit, we have frequented the restaurant almost every other week. We continue to enjoy the great food and hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisJohn60085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Kenosha treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had driven by this restaurant for many years ,but never stopped. Finally we decided to give it a try and we are so glad we did! So impressed by our welcome by the lovely hostess and our delightful server. We loved the decor and our table by the window. The drink/wine/beer menu was very complete. My husband had one of his favorite German beers.We had a choice of soup or salad plus tasty rolls, muffins, liver pate', & cole slaw included as appetizers. The 2 men had sauerbraten and so enjoyed it. The 2 women had the beef roladen. Yummy! All came with homemade red cabbage. Three of us had the homemade potato pancakes and one had the spaetzle. We raved about every bite! We will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janetalthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GERMAN STYLE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great, clean atmosphere! Specializes in great German food!!! Still serves a nice relish tray. Lots of items on menu. Friendly, prompt service. Closed Sundays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Gerhard also viewed

 

Been to House of Gerhard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing