We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscany Italian Bistro

Tuscany Italian Bistro
Ranked #10 of 249 Restaurants in Kenosha
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
208 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quite a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

You just have to go in and see the unbelievable myriad of deli and alcoholic beverages that are located in this place. They make some pretty fabulous pasta salads. A Kenosha institution I understand.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent food... Horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I am a Chicago gal and was thrilled to hear a new restaurant had opened in Kenosha, since many of the people who reside in this particular area are from Illinois. We made a reservation for 7:15 this evening and arrived at 7:05. We were told the wait would be an additional 5 to 10 minutes. We were not seated until 7:50. The owner indicated that it is difficult to gage because people get their check but end up not leaving.

After our experience, the long wait had nothing to do with the customers not wanting to leave but just downright bad service.

The atmosphere is decent but The waiting area is ridiculous. There is no where to stand and the wait staff needs to walk through the area to go back and forth from the bar. So not practical.

The calamari was excellent and plenty for a group of four. Bread was okay, as was the salad that accompanied the meal. The salad was actually kinda small and on the wimpy side. Our main course took forever to get.... and I do mean forever. The bus boy filled our water glass ONCE when we sat down and was never seen again. Our waiter was extremely green. Never acknowledged our empty drink glasses without being told; when he brought the food he placed each dish in front of the wrong individuals. The food was pretty good but the service just didn't justify the wait and horrible service. When people pay a decent amount for a meal they want top notch... Water and drink glasses filled, bread plates to accompany the bread, attention!

Do not get the desserts. In my opinion, if I'm going to eat the calories and pay the crazy price, the desserts better be out of this world. My son and I were not impressed at all.

We were at this restaurant for two hours... And it had nothing to do with the ambiance. The service was THAT slow and very unresponsive. Was the food good? I suppose.... But probably would've much preferred driving 30 minutes for better food and service.

Folks like this restaurant because it is new to the area and there aren't many places that have pretty decent food. However, if Tuscany doesn't step it up and get a better handle on service,it will eventually go belly up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 143gws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Italian and Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food was fantastic. The environment is a bit loud on a Friday night. The decor is nice and the restaurant is comfortable, a bit fancier but still casual. We made a reservation and waited a bit for a table. I would definitely recommend making a reservation. The portion were good size and the wine list was good. The service was good, however the timing could use improvement. The Hostess was not overally attentive or friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Supertier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great bar upon enterence! Apps are great and the entrees very good. I recommend trying the steak atleast once. I know its an Italian place, but this is Pete's choice and mine too. I agree with others that they try to rush you on a busy day, but just tell them up front that you are going to soak it all in. Drinks are pricey. Come back for the pasta. You will like everything on the menu. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Easy access off I-94, you will love the experience as soon as you step in the door and smell the wonderful aroma of Italian cooking! The decor makes you fell as though you slipped away to Italy!
Late lunch or dinner you are sure to enjoy the many options available! Get ready to excite your taste buds!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tuscany Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing