We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2013 Trip Idea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Civil War Museum

Civil War Museum
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Kenosha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The accredited Civil War Museum opened in 2008 on Kenosha Wisconsin's scenic lakefront campus. 57,000 Sq Ft covers American Civil War history like no other, offering the enthusiast a chance to learn about the contributions of the Upper Middle West. Already acclaimed for their permanent exhibit featuring life-scale, interactive exhibits, and audio and video technology. Introduced in 2013, the award-winning 360 degree film "Seeing the Elephant" is a 10 minute long glimpse into the life of a mid-western soldier, from recruitment, to training, through battle and finally returning home. See also the Veterans Gallery commemorating soldiers from each war fought by the US.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“2013 Trip Idea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I went to the Civil War Museum 3/21/2013 with 2 other friends. We spent about 2 hours there...which seemed a reasonable pace to take in the museum. The focus of the museum is... on the "great lakes states" roll in the civil war which brought much value to us (and others that live in these states). The volunteers were very help, friendly, and provided addition anecdotal information about the museum and the civil war. The fee for this museum also entitles you to be admitted to the other two adjoining museums at no additional charge. There is an electric train outside and to the north of the building ($1) that provides a view of some local points of interest. Much to read inside, but there were several interactive areas with movement activated civil war era characters with recorded stories (voice only).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rmangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suburbs of Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Favorite Kenosha Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place was awesome! I didn't expect us to spend so much time here, but it flew by so quickly. There are lots of things to read, and characters/statues to interact with. Our favorite area was the larger room with the stories and history. The smaller room with the monuments was a bit too dark to really see the bronze statues done up to represent what each different soldier over the years would have dressed like. But the ceiling light effect was cool.

The train car and the river boat were the best sections, the motion sensored statues were fun, and really made it more interactive and engaging. If it was really busy I can see this being very loud and hard to follow, but it was pretty empty the day we visited, so we got to take our time and talk about the different stories too.
The upstairs area had paintings by a civil war painter, they were great paintings, they felt so real, and really were nice to look at. Upstairs was also several display cases dedicated to Lincoln and Lincoln in popular culture. Nice collaboration. Also a great view of the lake from upstairs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel4Fun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little museum for a small town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rather unique to have a civil war museum far from the battlefields of the war, but emphasizing the contributions of the men and families of the upper midwest who played a huge role in fighting it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank znofyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kids loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The entire family loved the entire experience even my 3 years old loved it he cried when we had to leave. He loved just looking at the old war equiment. My daughter was suprised to see all the old thing they had there and was used in the past. would love to take my oldest son when he returns from the Marines.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank macias01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Civil War Museum--worth a trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

As unlikely as it is to find a Civil War museum in Kenosha, WI it does make some sense. The six states of the upper mid-west sent 750,000 soldiers to fight for the Union and many supplies and materiel were shipped through Milwaukee to the War effort. Kenosha is centrally located to the six states--Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois and Indiana, and thus a good place to document the contributions of these states to the Civil War.

The museum is in an architectually pleasing building near the Lake Michigan shoreline. The exhibits are engaging and appear very new. Figures dressed in period clothing will actually speak to you as you approach. Lots of interesting things to look at in this well planned museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank aquadroplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing