We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Awful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kenosha
Detroit, mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location-Awful Hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is located on the Port of Kenosha which is the ideal location if you are traveling to Kenosha. It is located near local restaurants, bars and musuems. Other than location the hotel does not have much to offer. The hotel looks like it was built in the 1950's and has not had much updates since that time. The bathroom, decorations, carpet and walls are outdated in both the rooms, lobby and public areas. The full breakfast that is advertised is ok at best. The seating in the lobby is limited which made it impossible for my family to take advantage of the breakfast buffet. No high speed internet access in the rooms. We had to pay a nominal fee for a refrigerator in our room. It was a pain to load and unload luggage because there was not a ramp near the elevator and we had to carry luggage down stairs. The hotel was very busy the entire time we were there and many of the guests seemed unhappy with having a long wait to check in and housekeeping services. Not family friendly at all. The lobby area turned into a drinking lounge for guests at night. If you can handle an outdated hotel and don't have kids then you might be able to tolerate this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    102
    70
    49
    55
See reviews for
145
84
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The location is the best. You can walk to Villa D'Carlo, the China Inn restaurants, downtown (Jockey Factory Outlet, toy story, gourmet hotdogs, etc.) and then enjoy the glorious view of the harbor and walk out to the lighthouse. A short jog and you're at Eichelman Park and 3rd Ave. Close also to businesses, Post Office.
Front Desk was friendly. Guest Internet PC right at the front desk, discourages anyone from spending a whole lot of time on it, as everyone can read your screen. I guess that's the point. So, quick checks of email and flight status was all we could do. Which was fine.
Hotel was clean and pool was OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryLeeStenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Horne, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I was pleased with this hotel. I had a clean room and fridge and microwave. Those things really matter when you are away from home. Nice staff. The housekeeping staff was very helpful and gave me all the free coffee I could drink. I will stay here when I am in this area on business again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

A clean room and excellent staff, receptionists and housekeepers very helpful. Just one thing that would help would be brighter, more inviting stairways. Being built into the side of a hill stairs are unavoidable, but they could look more like a hotel's stairs than like a battleship's.
Don't let that put you off, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborsideinn, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We would like to say thank you for selecting the Best Western Harborside Inn & Kenosha Conference Center for your June stay in Kenosha. I have shared your positive comments with our front desk staff and housekeeping department. After working hard at giving our guest outstanding customer service and clean fresh rooms our employees appreciate hearing that their hard work pays off with happy guest. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Kind of expensive for such an outdated and dingy hotel. My wife and I felt like something was crawling on us the whole time. Rooms were outdated and did not seem clean. Looked behind a nightstand for an outlet and found garbage, crumbs, and an earring. Walls were very thin. We we're woken in the middle of the night by a loud male & female in adjacent room.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolraybhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborsideinn, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for your review we value what our guests say and comments can only make us better. We apologize about any items that you may have found behind the night stand we have brought this to our Executive Housekeeper’s attention and she will review this with her staff. With the down economy the hotel has been slow at upgrading all the rooms at once we have been doing the upgrades a few rooms at a time. By the end of summer we anticipate all hotel rooms to be upgraded and with a fresh new look starting with our new bedding program. We hope to see you and your wife back with us soon because we are confident that once you stay in our new updated rooms you will be very satisfied with your accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenosha hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We arrived a few minutes early for check in, and though the hotel was as good as empty, and the rooms clean, the management made us wait until check in time.
While waiting for check in I went to the laundry room to do my laundry. The manager followed me down and told me that since I was not checked in yet I was not allowed to do my laundry. The rest of the staff was friendly. The rooms were clean, but not very nice, and the management was overly strict and unaccommodating. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding at the Kenosha Yacht Club. As far as location, its perfect. It has a great view of Lake Michigan and it's close to all the downtown businesses. But for the price, even the wedding rate, its definitely not a great value considering the hotel appearance and amenities. It could definitely use an aesthetic and more modern makeover. The bathroom is very small and there is very little counter space. The rate just doesn't support the "brand" of hotel or the city. Its downtown Kenosha, not downtown Milwaukee or Chicago. I guess you're really just paying a premium for being on the lake. One plus is the complimentary breakfast. There are a lot of choices and a pretty good sized eating area in the lobby. Overall, had a great time at the wedding and was glad the hotel was so close to the yacht club, but I wouldn't pay to stay here again if I was just visiting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenosha
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kenosha
7.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kenosha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Kenosha
129 reviews
5.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kenosha
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant Prairie
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant P...
#2 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside

Property: Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
Address: 5125 6th Ave, Kenosha, WI 53140-3403 (Formerly Harborside Inn & Kenosha Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kenosha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kenosha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique downtown Kenosha, Wisconsin hotel is ideally located on the beautiful shores of Lake Michigan between Milwaukee and Chicago. Harborside Inn and Kenosha Conference Center is ideal for family adventures, romantic getaways and business travels alike. Harborside Inn and Kenosha Conference Center is Kenosha's only lakefront hotel and is conveniently located to several Kenosha attractions and businesses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harborside Inn And Kenosha Conference Center
Best Western Harborside Inn & Kenosha Hotel Kenosha
Best Western Kenosha
Kenosha Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing