We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Kangaroost Tour!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kangaroost - CLOSED

The Kangaroost
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Kangaroost Tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Outagamie County 4-H Foods members had a wonderful tour. Jay & Kelly, along with their staff were very easy to make arrangements with. Jay, offered a great history of how they got started. There restaurant was clean, orderly and staff extremely friendly. Our group of 25 had an awesome experience and because of that, we will return!! Thanks Jay, Kelly and all who helped!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaukauna, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kaukauna is blessed to have the Roost!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Delicious, flavorful, healthy meals made from ingredients from local farms! Awesome, friendly service. If the prices were a bit lower, I'd eat here more, but the food is worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I could eat here every day that they are open!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Kangaroost is one of the best things to ever happen to Kaukauna and the "Heart of the Valley". I absolutely love everything I have had there, they update their specials daily on Facebook, the owners are always complimenting their fine staff, and I am willing to pay the extra price for organic, locally grown, locally sourced fresh food. I can't say enough good things about the Kangaroost.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“A must-try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I eat at the Kangaroost as often as I can. I've been a fan of the Kangaroostaurant truck as long as it has been in existence and am happy to say that the high culinary standards set for the mobile unit have been carried over and enhanced at its brick and mortar sibling. The owners and staff could not be more dedicated and accommodating.

If you crave fresh and local ingredients of the highest quality prepared with care and just the right amount of creativity, a visit to the 'Roost should be on your short-term bucket list. The everyday menu is top shelf, but where the restaurant really shines for me is the specials, which tend to be imaginative turns on whatever is seasonal and available from local source that day. Soups are varied and always interesting. Entrees and sandwiches often feature an interesting twist of either spice or ingredient on familiar dishes. For example grilled cheese sandwiches have been available recently in incredible variety. Today I had an oxtail stew entree that I described as "essence of oxtail". Desserts and pastries are always varied, fresh and delicious. Beer and wine are available and staff recommendations are on the mark.

I highly recommend the Kangaroost for anyone who considers themselves a "foodie" and cares deeply about where their sustenance comes from.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Stop In, Thank Me Later!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wonderful eatery. Excellent, fresh and creative food and done just right. The staff is "on" and so is The Kangaroost. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PlatterTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kangaroost also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing