We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Hi-Way Harry's Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Watertown, Wisconsin
1 review
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

When Hi-Way Harry's first opened, the food was really good. While the place remains beautiful, the food has gone downhill. I had salmon that looked great, but was so over-cooked that it was tough; fish should never be tough! The wait staff was very nice and looked just right in their black uniforms. The hostess and manager (not sure, she just came over and smiled at us but think she was a manager) were casually dressed instead of looking as nice as the wait staff. We won't go back unfortunately.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Current G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    44
    29
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Don't do it. I actually thought I was on candid camera it was so bad.
The steak was burned and stringy. The bread was cold and hard. All of the dressings were chunky mayo and tasted the same. The green beans were like rubber. The butter smelled rancid, and made my wife sick. She didn't smell it before she put it on her backed potato.
I will say the waiter was ok, but that is not the primary reason I visit a restaurant.
I am an average guy and my standards are not very high, but this was awful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My Filet was like leather- flies were my dinner guests and they bounced off the rubber green beans. Paid $70 for the worst dinner ever. Salad dressing was mayo and no flavor. The wine was great but......it came that way

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Revmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

over priced. not a vbery big slection. food was average. Have been there 3-4 times always the same. Really enjoyed the outside patio

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Ive been here about 6-8 times now. (My parents like to go). The last time I had the prime rib. It was tender, but lacked flavor. I should add that the rest of my table said they enjoyed their meals, but they aren't much for complaining either.
The overall atmosphere is nice enough and I think the bar area is nice.
I guess that my overall impression is that I've never been completely dissapointed, but I've never been wowed either. It's a nice, newer supper club that seems to be trying.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaperTiger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi-Way Harry's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hi-Way Harry's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing