We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, Yeah, This Is Up There”
Review of Milwaukee Grill

Milwaukee Grill
Ranked #2 of 172 Restaurants in Janesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Milwaukee Grill is a local restaurant, bar & grill in Janesville, WI with outside patio seating and a private banquet room. Independently owned and operated for over 25 years, "The Grill" has served quality food to discerning customers who enjoy fresh approaches to classic American Cuisine. From fresh seafood, tender marinated chicken and fall-off-the-bone barbecued ribs, to a burger with more toppings than you can fit in your mouth - freshness and quality always prevail. We never take the shortcut or sacrifice quality for cost. Our staff members honestly enjoy our customers and will do their best to make your visit memorable - each time you dine with us!
MadCity, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh, Yeah, This Is Up There”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There's not a whole lot I didn't like about The MKE Grill. Food was prepared to my specifications (I can get picky sometimes on how a burger is done). I've been here several times and have floated all over the menu, and haven't found a bad prep job yet. If you like your burgers thick & juicy, this grill will hit the mark. Lots of different choices on burger variations and you can ask for extra toppings. The salads are pretty substantial with fresh ingredients, and the server is quick to ask if you'd like any add-on croutons, cheese, etc. Hubby loves the meatloaf dinner piled high with string onions draped over the top of garlic mashed potatoes...the ultimate comfort food. Overall, the menu covers all kinds of selections for lunch or dinner, but seafood selections are a little weak. They have fish on Friday night (but look out, it gets busy since locals love to flock here for the good WI fish fry). The bar offers a place to have a drink while you wait for a table and there's free popcorn to tide you over. This place can be a challenge to find and parking can get rough, but use your GPS and if you have to, parking is allowed on the street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventchaGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    132
    32
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Normally eat here at lunchtime but have also had dinner on a couple of occasions. Never had an unsatisfactory meal. Nice selection of sandwiches for lunch and good soup. A little tricky to find, but worth the effort.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElmWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food And Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would highly recommend Milwaukee Grill for just about anything you like to eat. Food is very good, atmosphere nice, and very good service. They make a good drink also. The free popcorn also is very nice. You will not be disappointed for sure! I will be back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary53546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Came here with 3 others for dinner on a Saturday night. I ordered the tenderloin medallions. The salad was large and a very good mix of greens, onion,and homemade croutons. The blue cheese dressing was loaded with chunks of blue cheese. Our waitress (Bee) asked if I wanted blue chesse crumbles on the salad as well. The medallions were ordered medium rare, one was perfect the other was very rare. One of our companions had the prime rib ordered mediium but came out well done. Neither of us complained and were both satisfied despite not being cooked as ordered. This is the only reason I did not rate 5 stars. The other dinners were the meatloaf and the Asiago chicken. Both were excellant and garlic mashed were highlights. Had homemade (almost everything is homemade) chocolate silk pie, shared with the table-it was huge. Everyone loved it. Service was superb and they also have a nice selection of tap beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gentec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I cam to this restaurant after reading the other reviews listed on this website and I was not disappointed.

I had the Wisconsin Harvest Salad, Caribbean Chicken Sandwich, and a piece of french silk pie.

All three were delicious with great flavor combinations in the salad and sandwich. The service here excellent not too overbearing and even while it was busy there I didn't feel as if anything came slowly. The waiter I had his name was Jordan and he did an excellent job. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this restaurant and recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Grill also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing