We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast

Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Janesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 5 Janesville B&B and Inns
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've stayed here numerous times and have never had any problems. The place was immaculate, food was great, and the beds were very comfortable. Carol the owner was really friendly and had lots of information to share about the history of the place, also ideas of things to do around town including restaurant recommendations. The was also a decent size movie collection available to view at your own leisure. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who either needs a place to stay, or is just traveling through the area. Very reasonable rates!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the GA B&B for a long weekend during the Beloit Film Festival. Carol was the perfect hostess and most helpful with my dietary needs. Our room was cozy with the most wonderful king sized Posturpedic Adjustable bed. Dear Carol thinks of everything when it comes to her customers. Every morning we had the most beautiful breakfast served with detailed style. I found myself looking forward to every morning knowing Carol was going to put on an amazing spread, and all from scratch. The house is a magnificent sight to see. Best of all is when we asked Carol to sit down with us and have a chat. She was so helpful with information about the town and ready to help in any needs we had. I hope to return again to this amazing house and to see its kind and friendly owner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I have stayed at the Guardian Angel several times. The entire facility is wonderful. The rooms are furnished in exquisite victorian furnishings. The gardens are like a park. The hostess offers impeccable service and outstanding meals. It is comfortable, quiet and a true delight.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dwaine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed there with the in laws so my wife and I could share our stories about our recent marriage and honeymoon. It was very cozy and relaxing and we were able to enjoy the wonderful weather on Sunday walking around the area and attended Mass right across the Street at St. Mary's. Carol was able to accommodate all our needs and had more than enough blankets and pillows for a good nights rest. Carol also shared the history of the area and the house with us, very informative. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtleadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Suburbs of Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My aunt and I stayed at Carol's Bed and Breakfast for two nights during the week. Carol was a gracious hostess and a fabulous cook. We began each day with a healthy, delicious, and filling breakfast. It gave us the energy we wanted as we toured the Rotary Garden in Janesville and the Botanic Garden in Madison. The gardens on the grounds of the Guardian Angle Bed and Breakfast perfectly complimented our reason for our trip. The rooms were clean and decorated beautifully. I highly recommend staying here for a get-a-way because Carol's attention to detail in the decorating of the house helped me to feel as if I were in another place and time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerfloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
232 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We recently stayed in GA B&B for our 10th Anniversary. Our family rented 3 of the 4 bedrooms and the 4th was empty. The inn keeper Carol was very accomadating to our families dietary preferences and made us a large and tasty breakfast. The rooms are nicely furnished in large and ornate furniture. The house itself is a 6000 sqft mansion with lots of detailing from floor to ceiling. The inn keeper set up wine and a reception gift for the anniversary couples. She even gave us a gift certificate for a return trip and an outfit for our two month old. It was a very nice stay, good meal, and great amenities. I would reccommend it!

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Plastic matress cover under the sheet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nahdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Our entire family, (6 adults and 1 infant), enjoyed a beautiful stay at the Guardian Angel. I had contacted Carol directly and I knew just from chatting with her we'd have a lovely time!
Our niece was getting married the same week our two children were having their anniversaires. We decided for their gift we'd treat them to a nights stay while we attended the wedding.
Carol was the perfect hostess. She warmly greeted us when we arrived and had set up some special treats along with anniversary cards and gifts for both our children and their spouses
. She made sure everyone was comfortable and then gave us our privacy. The house is just beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. My husband does not eat cheese which was part of the main dish she served for breakfast . Which we discussed in advance. I told her not to worry but Carol made him something special so he could enjoy breakfast also.
Our 2 month old Grandson was treated special also! Carol presented him with a gift at breakfast. What a special stay for our whole family. Thanks Carol! We loved our stay...and hope to be back!!!!!

  • Liked — The owner of the bed & breakfast was Fab! along with a beautiful historic house
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NatesmomHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Janesville
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Janesville
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville
3.3 mi away
Ramada Janesville
Ramada Janesville
#7 of 9 in Janesville
3.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Janesville
Econo Lodge Janesville
#6 of 9 in Janesville
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Prospect Ave, Janesville, WI 53545-3156
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Janesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Janesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1871 in the Prospect Hill area of Janesville, Wisconsin, the historic registered Richardson Hamilton House became a prominent feature of south-central Wisconsin. Styled after Italian mansions and using Cream City brick, the home currently houses the Guardian Angel Bed and Breakfast.Carol Zirngible is your host for an overnight, weekend or extended stay with a mix of victorian charm and simple elegance. Lush gardens and quiet surroundings whisk you away from life's business. Located less than an hour from Madison, Wisconsin or Rockford, Illinois, the Guardian Angel is an ideal resting spot for busy travelers or business professionals alike. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing