We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place for an overnight stay in Janesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Janesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Janesville
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite place for an overnight stay in Janesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I live in Indiana but we frequently visit family in Minnesota. We stay 3-4 times per year at this hotel for an overnight "pitstop" while traveling. It is nothing fancy but it is a great value. It is always clean. Pets are welcome and even get a treat when checking in. It is easy access to the interstate. And while they do not have breakfast, there is coffee available in the office in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    20
    9
    17
See reviews for
20
15
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wheeler,Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I come to Janesville once or twice a year to visit family and friends. We usually stay at Econolodge but this trip they were booked solid, so I tried Motel 6. The price was right, BUT you get what you pay for. The room was clean but very small. There was no coffee maker or alarm clock, not even a box of tissue. There are no drawers in the desk or night stands, only shelves. The bathroom was roomy, but the towels were small and thin and only two provided. The biggest issue we had was the theft of some personal property. The maid claimed no knowledge of course. The manager was helpful and called the police so we could make a report. We will NEVER stay there again!! The EconoLodge down the street is a much better choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rangerswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Janesville hotels

Dayton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I always park within sight of my room. Janesville, WI has some crime due to being right off I-95. Rooms are clean. Good laundry. Wifi included. Coupon in hotel guide will get you a single for less than $45.00 (tax included).

Room Tip: Park where you can see your vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryRoadsScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at this motel a few years ago and found it much the same this summer. The woman at the front desk was exceptionally nice and friendly, and even gave me treats for my two dogs. The room was small but there was a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank survivorMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it was inexpensive, and we were only going to be there for six hours. Checking in was easy, staff friendly. Went to our room, and there were six people sitting outside smoking. Not good. When we opened to door to the room, it smelled musty. Not good. Bed was fine, and room was clean. You get what you pay for!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pulling into a driveway of a Motel 6 can sometimes be entertaining, creepy, scary, bothersome, or pleasant. I work in Des Moines, IA and I have traveled and stayed in larger metro cities, so pulling up and seeing an elderly woman sitting on the curb in a stocking hat and winter coat in June, (temp was in the 80's) and the staff or other guests around her talking to her didn't exactly spook me like it did my wife, but it did give me a sense of unease. What was the cliental of this hotel?
The checking in process went fine, the staff behind the counter was pleasant, but I felt a bit hurried, as she was out the door holding a soda can and conversing with the group before I could get back to our vehicle.
We drove around to the side of our hotel room and proceeded to unpack. I noticed in the upper floor, right hand corner rooms, a large group of adults opening the curtains and watching us. I told the wife that we better completely unload the car or we may not have anything left in the morning. Both rooms watched us unload everything, I was debating whether to stay or leave and find another hotel down the road.
After we got unloaded and closed the door, we noticed that the door won't close all the way. When we opened the door, the dead bolt had came out, not letting the door close. I had to twist the deadbolt knob and hold it while I shut the door. Once the door was closed, you could gently pull on the door and it would come open from the inside, luckily it didn't do that if you were trying to come in from the outside. But after fiddling with the deadbolt, giggling the doorknob and pushing on the door until everything engaged and locked, the door stayed latched. Which proved bothersome for my wife who makes frequent trips outside while we stay in hotels.
Can't exactly tell you about the bed, it was your typical firmer hotel bed, but I think I was just so exhausted from the last couple days of our trip I went into a coma until morning.
Check-out went ok and the staff even wished us a wonderful day as we left.
Bottom line, the room was clean, the staff pleasant, there was no coffee maker in the room (which I wasn't sure if Motel 6's had), went across the road to Wal-Mart (nice store) to purchase one, don't remember much of the night. In the morning, made coffee, showered, packed up the car (all four tires were still there, no broken windows) and headed to our next destination. Made it through the experience, but made the comment to my wife we may want to think about upping our standards a bit when we travel.

Room Tip: Make sure your door closes and locks when you leave and after entering your room. Recommend first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MALaehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on Monday night, June 9, while on vacation. Because my husband can receive discounts due to his job, he typically finds one that fits not only our budget but fits into the perimeter of where we are traveling to. We have stayed at other Motel 6 locations and in my opinion, this one was the worst! Why? When we pulled into the lot so that he could go get us checked in, I opted to stay with the vehicle and observe the surroundings - which was probably my mistake! Seeing what we "assumed" was either a homeless person or someone who was living at the motel and obviously hadn't had a shower in months, sitting right outside the front lobby door, instantly put me (and I'm sure, my husband) on guard! With that being said, as we traveled around to the other side of the motel, to find our first floor room, we observed other guests watching US! My mind was on full alert. I was thankful for the parking right outside our door, so that whenever I went outside to have a cigarette, I could sit in our vehicle and not be so alarmed! The construction guys grilling from the back of their pickups didn't bother me, as it reminded me of a time years ago, in a former life. Forgetting that Motel 6 locations typically don't have coffee pots in the room, we made a Wal*Mart run, which was right across the busy highway...a very nice Wal*Mart, no less...to purchase a coffee pot, filters and coffee!!!! The door to our room wasn't the best in the west, either, so going in and out, got tiresome! The BEST thing about this motel was the proximity to Cracker Barrel restaurant! My husband and I even talked about "upping our standards" on the next vacation! Sometimes, cheaper ISN'T always better! After reading some other reviews, I'm seriously wondering - were we in the SAME place??

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if you are a smoker or if you are concerned about the safety of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLaehn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Janesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Janesville
Econo Lodge Janesville
#6 of 9 in Janesville
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Janesville
Super 8 Janesville
#5 of 9 in Janesville
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
0.1 mi away
Ramada Janesville
Ramada Janesville
#7 of 9 in Janesville
3.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Janesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Janesville

Property: Motel 6 Janesville
Address: 3907 Milton Ave, I-90 at Exit 171-A/Hwy 26, Janesville, WI 53546-1008
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Janesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Janesville 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property is under new ownership as of November 2007. Recently all rooms have been remodeled with new lighting, furniture, bedding, 24" TV and bathrooms with granite tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Janesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Janesville
Janesville Motel 6
Janesville Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing