We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Motel 6 Janesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Janesville
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is dog friendly. It was very clean the service was great the bed was so comfortable. There are some great places to eat nearby and the front desk was very helpful and suggestions and acting as a concierge

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 839arpans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

After a long hard drive on pretty slick roads all the way from central Minnesota, we found a coupon in a travel book at a Rest Area for this motel, convenient to the I-system we were on and decided to stop for the night. A pretty no-frills motel, expected at a Motel 6, but exactly what we needed. No free "breakfast" which is typically only high carb anyway which we avoid and usually skip anyway, but a warm, clean. quiet, ground floor, smoke-free room, hot shower, comfortable beds, an older TV (some of the channels didn't come in very well, but we weren't interested in TV anyway), microwave and fridge, friendly service, free internet, free coffee in the morning - with the coupon under $45 including tax. We'd certainly recommend for tired travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

On a one-night stay on the way home from Thanksgiving, we deliberately looked for a low-cost place. We figured that for a $20 difference in price we didn't need a selection of high-carb breakfast selections; coffee was just fine, had breakfast down the road. Also, we appreciated not having to pay extra for our dog. The desk staff was congenial. We had a quiet room that had its own exterior door and parked in front of room, very convenient for loading & unloading. This is a low-budget motel, of course, so don't expect luxurious towels & bedding or fancy decor. And, I travel with my own hair dryer anyway. My high rating reflects that it did well at what it does. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, it had a microwave and mini-fridge, TV was fine, WiFi was flawless even at our room at the far end of the complex (which not all motels can claim), ample space to hang clothes. The room appeared to have been recently painted, had new-looking drapes & light fixtures, colorful retro road travel bedspreads. Looked just like the photo above. No weird smells that others have mentioned. No bugs. Bathroom clean & in good condition; shower very good. Room was very well lit - much more so than many places. (Actually, the room was nearly twice as large as high-priced room we had at the Manhattan W Hotel several years ago.) Heater was a bit noisy, but we turned it off to sleep anyway. No in-room coffee. Cracker Barrel restaurant next door. (Hint: Janesville was less expensive & reviews better than comparable properties at Beloit/S. Beloit about 1/2 hr farther south.) Easy access from freeway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachflower_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

An older property, but like Tom says, a clean comfortable room at bargain rates. Great staff. Good night's sleep without busting the travel budget. Has a Cracker Barrel next door, which makes for a nice breakfast to wake up to. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband's first comments, regarding the room..."I really, really can't believe were going to stay!" My ONLY excuse...extremely exhausted and too dangerous to proceed on the road! It really, really, SMELLED...chemical smell, perhaps...UNIDENTIFIABLE SMELL, but definitely overpowering! Room cleanliness was worrisome...stripped the beds and used our own linens that night! Terrible and uncomfortable beds...I mean, what's the point if we barely slept...exited quickly the next morning!!! If I use this experience as a gauge for all Motel 6 standards...NEVER, EVER, EVER, AGAIN!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dbone27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We rented two rooms, and due to work constraints, did not arrive to check in until 10;30 pm. I guess the first red flag was the clerk behind bullet proof glass checking us in. Our son went to his room and we went to ours. We opened the door and....oh the smell. Wisconsin's smoking ban has been in effect for years....and old tobacco smoke was probably the best of the smells in the room. The bedspread was filthy, as was the carpet. The lock on the door had been duct taped to the door...and there were numerous pry marks. We checked for bugs....and did not see anything obvious and attempted to sleep. The next morning, we saw in the daylight the car up on blocks directly across from our room. (One of the blocks appeared to be an old metal cracker container.) When I entered my son's room, I nearly passed out. The smells were awful! We had a luncheon to attend, and when we returned, I explained to the person at the desk that we were checking out due to the filth and the smells. The manager (?) refused to refund what we had paid for the night we were NOT going to be staying for. We will never return here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxValleyDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Janesville, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear FoxValleyDiner - We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness, odor and comfort issues you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This location was very convenient and the price was very cheap and pets stay free! However, the queen-sized bed was a little small for 2 people. Its a little dated and the mosquitoes were TERRIBLE. A little less than what we expected but would be ok for a single person passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickjen6310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Janesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Janesville
Super 8 Janesville
#4 of 9 in Janesville
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Janesville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
0.1 mi away
Ramada Janesville
Ramada Janesville
#7 of 9 in Janesville
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Janesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Janesville

Address: 3907 Milton Ave, I-90 at Exit 171-A/Hwy 26, Janesville, WI 53546-1008
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Janesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Price Range: $62 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Janesville 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 and is about 1/4 mile from the I-90/I-39 off exist 171A which makes it ideal for the passing traveler. Modern rooms, free WIFI, guest laundry facility and Micro-Fridge upon request. 100% Smoke Free guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Janesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Janesville
Janesville Motel 6
Janesville Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing