We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, Dirty, Stinky little room - READ ME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Reviewed April 28, 2012

booked this hotel cuz i decided to give the other "good" reviews the benefit of the doubt... it was not a good experience. I would never stay here again. The sheets had a brown stain, and somebody elses hair was in them, dirty floors in the bathroom, the room was ice cold when we got there and smelt a little mildewy, then when we turned on the heater in the room, the air blowing out kinda stunk! On top of that we had gotten a room w/ a queen size bed and was figuring that i would at least have room to turn around, Barely! This hotel may be a cheaper option in the Janesville area, but considering the environment you will be staying in, it is over-priced and NOT WORTH IT!

Room Tip: want a good room? stay anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel28413, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We do apologize for the stay you had at our hotel. If you would have told the front desk about the issues you were having they could have moved you to a diffrent room. We do inform all guests that when you first turn on the heaters there will be a little odor omitted from it because they have not been used in a while. Again we apologize for your stay but if you would have informed the desk they could have made your stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 501 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We needed an inexpensive hotel because we were in town for a funeral. It is a good value for the money. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel28413, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We thank you for staying at our hotel and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The rooms were tiny! So I guess it lived up to its name. The room we had was cold, so they had to bring in a space heater. But then in the middle of the night it got too warm. Needless to say it was not too comfortable. The rooms were clean so that's a plus. And the price for the room was good. Considering the size of this city it was one of the top options for motels/hotels.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0428Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel28413, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Once again I'm very happy that I made my own decision on a place and was not chased away by some bad or mediocre reviews. This is a wonderful, spotlessly clean, comfortable little motel. Wifi was great (very important for me) they had a nice breakfast, an exceedingly friendly and almost waiting to jump to please staff. And the rate was an incredible value. I loved this motel. I'm on a trip that goes until the end of May where I'll be traveling around to many cities. This was a superb little hotel. Microtel rooms tend to be smaller but they are very well designed in their compact design, extremely comfortable. Great TV selection here as well. Absolutely no complaints on my end ....only compliments.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This Microtel is slightly above average for the brand. The room was clean / comfortable, the staff was friendly and I had minimal complaints during my stay. The only room for Improvement I would suggest would be to keep a better eye on the morning's breakfast. When I arrived (Sometime after 08:30, so towards the tail end) the selection was quite empty. I stayed at this property for almost two weeks. Only one issue was some noise neighbors, the overnight staff took almost a half hour to respond to my complaint.

Pros: Good staff, well maintained property, good location, truck parking, excellent WI FI coverage

Cons: Breakfast needs improvement, staff should respond to noise complaints more quickly.

As Microtels go, I would rate this property an 8 out of 10, overall a 7 out of 10. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNighthawkBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

For the price, this hotel was a good value. The room was clean and didn't have an objectionable odor. There were a few little things like mold on the shower curtain that prevented me from giving it a higher rating.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our daughter and granddaughters were traveling to spend Thanksgiving with my mother. As my daughter had worked all day the day prior to Thanksgiving, she could not make it all the way to her grandmother's house that day, so I booked a room for her and her daughter's at this hotel.

Just before midnight, she got to Janesville and forgot which exit to take, so she called the hotel to find out which exit she should take. Her first call she was told to call back in a few minutes, which she did. On her second call the front desk clerk was pretty rude and seemed put out that he had to provide directions to my daughter.

After finally checking in, she was given a room that had a considerable amount of mildew in it and she requested another room. Again the front desk clerk seemed miffed and as if she was nothing but a pain in his posterior, but he did change her room.

After entering the second room, she discovered it also had mildew in it, but less so, so she decided it was late, she and her daughters were exhausted and she didn't want to tick off the front desk clerk any further, so they went to bed and arose early the next morning and left.

I complained to Microtel Corporate about this and was then asked by this hotel to fill out a customer survey, which I did. I received a response from the franchise owner advising that he apologized and said his front desk clerk was new and needed additional training. That was it. Nothing about the mildew in the rooms being taken care of.

I advised him that bleach was a cheap fix for mildew and that his interviewing skills needed some honing so that he did not hire people with a bad attitude into the service industry.

My recommendation is that you not stay at this hotel. Pay a few dollars more and stay at a better hotel!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel28413, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

We do apoligize for the mildew issue in the room. We had not been informed that the issue was still there we had just treated the issue about two weeks before their reservation. I did make sure that the issue was addressed this time and we no longer have this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Janesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Janesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Janesville
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Janesville
Ramada Janesville
#7 of 9 in Janesville
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Janesville
Super 8 Janesville
#4 of 9 in Janesville
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville

Address: 3121 Wellington Pl, Janesville, WI 53546-3416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Janesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Janesville Hotel Janesville
Microtel Janesville
Janesville Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing