We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

At 5:30 on a Sunday eve after traveling over 700 miles it was disappointing to find no one at the desk. After waiting approx. 10 minutes a woman asked if she could help us; when we stated we were here for a room, she said she couldn't help us with either check-in or check-out. She did not know where the desk person was. I used the restroom and it was a total disaster. Obviously the hotel had had some kind of group but no one had cleaned up. Toilets not flushed, paper all over the floor, sinks with no soap and dirty. When I returned to the front desk a young man was going behind the desk. He made no apology or explanation as to where he had been. We had used our priority points for our room or we would have left. Our room was not at all like other HIE we have stayed at. Our room had a connecting one and upon entering there was a strong smell of smoke. I called the front desk and was told it was a non smoking bldg, so I must be mistaken???? The linens at HIE are always top notch, but these had definitely seen better days. We travel through here at least twice a year and had never stayed so were looking forward to it. We would put this only as an average place for the price. The continental breakfast was good and a good assortment of food. Hopefully we just came on a bad night for happy staff...........

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beldan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    91
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
44
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

comfortable and clean, bedding very nice, good breakfast, nice location

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

This hotel is a cute little hotel in the perfect location. Its across the street from Wal-Mart and within walking distance of a convenience store and 2 restaurents (a chilis like restaurant and a Fudruckers) Olive Garden and a excellent Mexican restaurant were only a mile away. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable, and this says a lot becuase I am very opinionated about how soft my bed has to be and I need at least 4 pillows to sleep with. The breakfast in the morning was hot and freshly made and there were many choices from bacon and eggs to make your own waffles. Check in and out was fast and painless and my final bill was slipped under my door the morning of checkout. Internet access is free; wireless in the lobby and corded in the rooms.

  • Liked — Clean linens, furniture, and expertly cleaned bathroom
  • Disliked — the pool was visible from the lobby, so if you are shy its not the pool for you
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uvameghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

I have stayed here in the past, but this time I was surprised to find that they had put new carpet in the rooms. It wasn't an overwhelming smell, but you knew when you walked in the room.
I liked that because it tells me they are taking care of the property.

The breakfast was great. Besides the yummy warm cinnamon buns, they had biscuits and gravy, and sausage patties.

The room was clean and comfy. I'd stay here again.

The only unusual thing I can say about my stay was that the TV didn't work. All we had was snow. I was ready to go to bed and didn't really want to call for a repair person and get dressed again, then wait around for them to arrive and figure it out....so I did a little investigating and found that someone had completely disconnected the cable from the wall. I reattached it and the TV worked just fine.

  • Liked — New carpet, comfy bed, warm breakfast.
  • Disliked — Having to share the breakfast room with such a large crowd of people. It was busy.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TinaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

My seventy-five year old mother and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Janesville Wisconsin for the night of Saturday, September 27th, 2008. When making our reservations online, we requested a room on the top floor, away from the elevator and the Interstate, and that is what we were given.

The medium-sized room included a very loud slamming door, two queen-sized beds, each with four pillows on them, a clock radio, one regular chair and one office-type chair with a table/desk, a large television with quite a range of channels (but no remote), a coffeemaker, and an iron/ironing board. My call to the front desk resulted in the quick arrival of a replacement remote.

The very large bathroom had plenty of room to move around in, and included four sets of towels, a hairdryer, bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion, a make-up remover, as well as two bars of soap. There was sort of a handle in the shower, but it broke off when my mother tried to hold on to it. Fortunately, she did not injure herself, but it should have been secured much better.

One interesting thing we found at this particular Holiday Inn Express is that you need to insert your room key into a slot by the door in order to operate the power and thermostat in the room.

After taxes, the American Automobile Association rate for Room 503 came to $117.01 U.S. Funds. Overall, we were very comfortable in the room as it was very clean. However, the hotel does have paper-thin walls, so those who are light sleepers like myself may find “a good night's sleep” depends on who is in the next room...

  • Liked — Very large bathroom
  • Disliked — Paper-thin walls
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Having stayed at many H.I.Express before, I will admit that there were certain things that made this a bit disappointing. But first let me tell you about the things that were good. The hotel is easy to get to from the the interstate and it is near a plethora of chain restaurants on 14 and on 26. The lobby was big--noteworthy big--but that makes sense later. The hotel is connected to a convention center which makes it very convenient for wedding receptions or business meetings.

However, they haven't yet managed to negotiate their size while still keeping quality service. The lobby is big because they have tour buses full of folk who all lounge, sleep and eat at the same time. Rather than planning for this--by having a separate food area, extra housekeeping and desk staff during those rush times, they simply make people wait, and wait, and wait. So not only did I see frustrated folks trying unsuccessfully to check into their rooms in time to change for the wedding they were attending, but I also stood in line for 15 minutes, like everyone else in the hotel, waiting to get coffee--and hoping that the extremely overworked food prep person had refilled the hot food trays by the time you got there. This food line was CONSTANT from 8 a.m. until they abruptly stopped serving at 9:30 on a saturday. There were no places to eat, even AFTER they opened up a conference room to seat extra people--it just smacked of bad planning and no interest in improving it.

The rooms felt worn, decor was limited and the bathrooms weren't as clean as they should have been. Lighting in the rooms was limited and sort of depressing. For all the trouble, I'd probably stay at the Microtel next door if I was to stay in Janesville again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — LINES for everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

I stayed here for one nite. All of the staff was so friendly. They were crowded with summer holiday visitors but when I got there early they went out of their way to get my room ready so I wouldn't have to wait too long. The room was very clean and I loved the bed with all of the pillows - so comfy. I've been a priority member for several years now. I don't travel much, but when I do, the Holiday Inn Express Hotels never let me down.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank bnich618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Janesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Janesville
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Janesville
Ramada Janesville
#7 of 9 in Janesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Janesville
Super 8 Janesville
#5 of 9 in Janesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Janesville
Econo Lodge Janesville
#6 of 9 in Janesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14

Property: Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
Address: 3100 Wellington Place, Janesville Conference Center, Janesville, WI 53546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Janesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Janesville Conference Center, a 100% smoke-free facility conveniently located and highly visible at I-90 and Hwy 14E in Janesville, WI. The Holiday Inn Express & Janesville Conference Center features 142 newly renovated guest rooms, complimentary expanded Express Start Breakfast, complimentary parking, and a Guest Reception Monday-Thursday from 5:00pm to 6:30pm, featuring complimentary tap beer, soda, wine and popcorn. The Holiday Inn Express & Janesville Conference Center offers 15,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, wedding and banquet space to accommodate groups of 10-1300 people. Our excellent meeting/conference services feature complete breakfast, lunch, dinner, and refreshment break options. Holiday Inn Express Janesville Conference Center has full service meeting planning professionals to assist you in all details and set up of your meeting, wedding, conference, or banquet event.The Holiday Inn Express Janesville Conference Center is conveniently close to these corporate locations: General Motors Assembly Plant, Simmons, Lemans, Blain Supply Corporate Headquarters, Thyssen Krupp, Seneca Foods, Lear Corporation and Hufcor. The hotel is located within 90 minutes of O'Hare Int'l Airport and 70 minutes from Milwaukee General Mitchell Airport. Corporate shuttle service is available to local companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - i-90 And Us Highway 14 Hotel Janesville
Holiday Inn Janesville
Janesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing