We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Being Renovated”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hard to review this hotel as renovations will be going on until summer of 2014. Workout room has only 3 machines but was told a new one will be on 5th floor. Check in was slow as Heather asked if she could take a phone call. We agreed, but then she took two more while was just stood there. Meanwhile the person behind us in line was taken care of by another employee before us. Seems to me the people present should take precedence over those calling in. Website said there would be discount restaurant coupons for those who had reservations but only two apply, and one isn't valid on weekends.
Room was fine, breakfast very good and area kept clean. Good place to stay and should be better when renovation is complete.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theatregoernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    92
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
45
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

First of all, let me start of my review by stating that my husband and I were in town for an event that was being held at the Holiday Inn Express. For this reason alone, we chose to stay at this hotel. Unfortunately, because we booked a little late, the only room left was a suite. This ended up costing us $174 for one night. I was not happy about the price, as this is the most expensive hotel we’ve ever stayed in…even more expensive than our fancy, downtown hotel in San Francisco. Despite the price, we bit the bullet, booked the room, and hoped for the best.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we immediately noticed the construction at the entrance of the building. It was a bit of an obstacle to get around, but once we made it inside, we were greeted by a friendly staff member. We checked in and went to our hotel room.

When we entered the room, my husband could immediately see the disappointment on my face. It was a gigantic, apartment-like, room with a separate living area, kitchenette, bathroom and bedroom. Since it was just the two of us, we were only staying one night, and most of our time was going to be spent at our event, I knew most of the room would be wasted. I was right – we never even used the living area or kitchenette. We expected the room to be fancy for the price, but the room was horribly out-dated (from the 80’s or early 90’s maybe). We later found out that they were going to start renovating the interior of the hotel this month…it is much needed. I was happy that we had a king sized bed. However, the bed caved in towards the middle. My husband and I found ourselves rolling toward the middle of the bed all throughout the night. At 4:00am, we both woke up to the sound of a dump truck backing up (beeping) and picking up trash. The loud noises and constant beeping lasted for 15 – 20 minutes. Luckily, we were both able to go back to sleep until around 7:00am when the construction crews arrived and their trucks started making noises as well. It was also loud from the traffic since the hotel is near a busy road. Needless to say, between the uncomfortable bed and the loud noises (construction/traffic), we did not get a very good night’s sleep.

As for the amenities, the breakfast was delicious (hot cinnamon rolls). This hotel also has a hot tub and indoor pool. Unfortunately, the heater on the pool was broken the night we stayed, so we could not swim in the pool (way too cold). We did get in the hot tub though. Those were the only amenities that we used.

In summary, we paid $174 a night for an out-dated room that we only used 1/3 of, an interrupted sleep, and a pool that we couldn’t use. For that price, I expected much more. There was a Microtel right across the parking lot. We had contemplated booking this hotel in the first place due to its extremely low price ($68 per night), but we didn’t know that it was so close. Had we known that it was so close, we would have booked it in a heartbeat. I would not recommend the Holiday Inn Express, at least not until the renovation is complete. Unless you can get a room for under $70 per night, the price you pay is not reflected in the room or amenities.

Positives: friendly staff members, hot tub, delicious cinnamon rolls for breakfast, and a very convenient location near food and shopping.

Negatives: Expensive, out-dated rooms, uncomfortable bed, noise/construction, and broken pool heater.

Skip this hotel and go for the Microtel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkDaisy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkshis_11, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I do apologize for the inconveniences you suffered. The pool heater has been fixed and the water is now warm. Our renovations will be ongoing through the Spring of 2014. And, once done, we will be close to a brand new hotel. I am sorry that that was not explained to you at the time of your reservation. A problem resolution has been sent via a private e-mail. Again, I apologize and hope that if your travels bring you back to Janesville you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Not writing this review from my own experience, but my husband and son stayed here in June. Staff were excellent and accommodation good.
Whilst Janesville is not somewhere most people would be rushing off to visit, nevertheless their experience was a really positive one.
From my point of view here in Australia at the time, I needed to get information to my husband the next morning before he left for Chicago. I called in the middle of the night their time and spoke to this wonderful woman, who gave me her email address, which enabled me to send to her what I needed to. Sure enough it was slipped under my husband's door for early morning.
Holiday Inn's are usually pretty good, but because of this lady, I think Janesville, to me anyway, is exceptional.

Room Tip: All rooms here pretty good at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has been tired for at least the last 5 years. They've begun the process of renovation, which is a good thing.

We stayed here again recently due to work being done in our home, which necessitated us staying elsewhere for a long weekend. Our "suite" was the strangest layout ever -- and in the worst possible spot. (Under the stairway, across from the door to the stairs, and next to the door to outside. *sigh* Noisy, to say the least. And the room smelled like dirty, sweaty feet!!! Ick.

Plus -- front desk staff was sweet and helpful. Avoid staying here until after renovations are complete, if you can.

Room Tip: Don't get the two-room suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaH022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear GloriaH022,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to hear that you found our staff to be sweet and helpful. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the cleanliness of the room may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback and guarantee you the issues that you have experienced will be rectified immediately. We assure you that your future stays will be much more comfortable. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel based on other reviews that I read, but I am glad we stayed here. I found the hotel and room very clean. All of the staff we encountered, both front desk and housekeeping, were very friendly and pleasant. The breakfast area was kept very neat and remained stocked during the busy breakfast time. I thought the bed was very comfortable, but my husband thought the bed was too soft. There were plenty of pillows, which I like. The physical property is dated, but they are currently undergoing renovations. We were repeatedly told about the reconstruction. However, the 7am hammering and outdoor machinery was still hard to take. There are nearby eating options so we did not have to drive. But if you want to, there are many nearby choices. In addition, there is also a movie theater close. I would recommend this place, especially after the reconstruction. During remodeling I may take advantage of other comparably priced hotels nearby.

Room Tip: The outside is undergoing reconstruction now. When it begins inside they will start on the top (5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruinvbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. My experience was very positive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very quiet. The location is great, restaurants within walking distance and right near the freeway. My room did not face the freeway. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because the bathroom sink area needs updating in my opinion. Also no alarm clock in the room. That seemed really odd to me. I can't remember the last time I stayed at a hotel where there was no alarm clock in the room. The free breakfast was adequate, better than others I've experienced. Overall it was a good hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Janesville one night in Aug 2013 in transit from Ohio to Minnesota. We have stayed at many hotels in the HIE class across the country and this one unfortunately is very worn and outdated compared other hotels in this class, we would recommend considering something else. A bit more information.

We chose this HIE based solely on our driving schedule and I did not check Tripadvisor before reserving, so we were arriving blind. Upon arrival in the later afternoon I had a good idea what to expect from this hotel before ever entering the hotel. Someone was in the parking lot was unloading their car using one of the luggage carts provided by the hotel and the cart looked so old and worn that I had a good idea what to expect from the rest of the property.

Check in went well and the staff was friendly, no issues here. Our first room had some quality issues and I returned to the front desk. The staff was accommodating and moved us to a new room. Thank You.

The new room was better, but had clear indications that matched the luggage cart seen in the parking lot. The door lock was loose in the door, the door was worn and the veneer chipped away at the bottom. Once in the room to lock the deadbolt you had to lift the door to line up the bolt with the opening in the wall. In the room the mattresses on both beds were significantly concaved in the center as if the mattress were many many years old. The walls had several dents indicating were furniture had been over the years. Thought it couldn't get worse, but then I sat in the desk chair and about fell to the floor as the chair was broken. On the bright side, the bathroom was dated, but fairly clean. All in all the room didn't meet my expectations or the standards of other in class hotel rooms.

We were only staying here one night and would be leaving early in the morning, so we decided to stay.

Breakfast was the standard HIE fair. The breakfast room was large so this was nice. This part was ok.

We paid about $110 for our one night which is actually a bit less than most in class hotels (it was obvious why).

All in all this HIE location has clear short comings to other in class properties (the staff was ok) and we would recommend considering something else. Depending on your driving direction drive a bit more to Madison or Rockford where you will find many quality choices. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here request a room not on the freeway side of the buidling
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkshis_11, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to critique our hotel. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do understand that we are in need of a renovation. We are scheduled to go through a full renovation starting in November. We would hope you could give us another chance after our renovation to accomodate your needs. We would love to show you what a great hotel we are and how much we value our guests. Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Janesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Janesville
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Janesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Janesville
Ramada Janesville
#7 of 9 in Janesville
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Janesville
Econo Lodge Janesville
#6 of 9 in Janesville
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Janesville
Super 8 Janesville
#4 of 9 in Janesville
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14

Property: Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
Address: 3100 Wellington Place, Janesville Conference Center, Janesville, WI 53546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Janesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Janesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Janesville Conference Center, a 100% smoke-free facility conveniently located and highly visible at I-90 and Hwy 14E in Janesville, WI. The Holiday Inn Express & Janesville Conference Center features 142 newly renovated guest rooms, complimentary expanded Express Start Breakfast, complimentary parking, and a Guest Reception Monday-Thursday from 5:00pm to 6:30pm, featuring complimentary tap beer, soda, wine and popcorn. The Holiday Inn Express & Janesville Conference Center offers 15,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, wedding and banquet space to accommodate groups of 10-1300 people. Our excellent meeting/conference services feature complete breakfast, lunch, dinner, and refreshment break options. Holiday Inn Express Janesville Conference Center has full service meeting planning professionals to assist you in all details and set up of your meeting, wedding, conference, or banquet event.The Holiday Inn Express Janesville Conference Center is conveniently close to these corporate locations: General Motors Assembly Plant, Simmons, Lemans, Blain Supply Corporate Headquarters, Thyssen Krupp, Seneca Foods, Lear Corporation and Hufcor. The hotel is located within 90 minutes of O'Hare Int'l Airport and 70 minutes from Milwaukee General Mitchell Airport. Corporate shuttle service is available to local companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - i-90 And Us Highway 14 Hotel Janesville
Holiday Inn Janesville
Janesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing