We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding atmosphere, food and historical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Armory

The Armory
Ranked #97 of 169 Restaurants in Janesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding atmosphere, food and historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a very historical place. There is very good food. The bar is solid and it probably is the nicest place to eat in Janesville (in the Lt. Club). The outside patio is very good, too. The tomato bisque soup is really good.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food - fair priced specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Their specials are fairly priced and a decent portion. Service is courteous and prompt.

Helpful?
Thank Templeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Year's Event”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We visited the Armory for New Year's Eve. Save your money. The entertainment was ok but the food was mediocre. My fish was cold. The service was horrible. The waitress brought drinks when we sat at the table and we didn't see her until after the performance when she brought the check. The check was wrong and we waited another 1/2 for it to be corrected. Save your money and visit another local establish for your New Year's Eve event.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david k K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food in a classy building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I've gone to numerous dinner plays here as well as had dinner throughout the last few years and I've been consistently impressed by The Armory. The staff was always friendly and helpful and the food is unique and delicious. The building itself has been renovated quite nicely. I would definitely recommend The Armory for dinner theater or simply a nice dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MapMakinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

My husband and I have been going here for the Christmas show now for the last 4 years. We enjoy it very much. The staff is so friendly and the food is wonderful. It is nice to have dinner and not have to get upand move to another location for the show. We also like the fact that you can still enjoy having a glass of wine while you watch. We go this Saturday and can not wait!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meggan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Armory also viewed

 

Been to The Armory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing