We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hidden secret.”

Rotary Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Janesville
Certificate of Excellence
mrmole1949
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hidden secret.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A rare find in Janesville. Four season garden with beautiful flowers, pathways and views. Great seating areas to sit with a book or a pen and paper. Great photography chances. Season pass is wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrmole1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    29
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Way more than expected from a small town botanical garden”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had met enthusiastic volunteers from Janesville's Botanical Garden so I knew it would be good but I was suprized by the size and breadth of their types of garden. The website is also well done. If you see a flower you like and can't remember the name, you will find a picture of it with the name.There were interesting garden themed things in the gift shop too. What they lack is any food other than ice cream bars. I plan to go back to the Japanese Garden in winter. Yes, they are open all year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are in the area you'd be crazy not to come for a visit here. The gardens have been expanded in recent years and are even more rewarding to visit than they used to be. My personal favorite is the Japanese garden with its meditation pavilion because that is a style that appeals to me personally, but there is beauty here no matter where you look. The beds in front of the entrance have been planted this year with all orange and orange-red flowers, which makes a stunning effect. Unfortunately they have now had to begin charging admission, but the $5 is certainly worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DB1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful..... Magnificent....Peaceful”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We absolutely LOVED the day we spent at these gardens. Flowers of all kinds and colors. Butterflies, bumblebees,dragonflies, and humming birds all over! Every bench in the park has a quote about nature and gardening and flowers. There are plenty of places to sit and relax. A great place to bring the camera! Spending a few hours here was pure delight and happiness. We will definitely be coming back! Just loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OpenSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Must d when in southcentral WI or northern IL”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The ever changing landscape of Rotary garden never ceases to entertain guests. I always make sure to begin or end the visit by looking at the display that shows the gardens progression from gravel pit to botanical garden. My personal favorite is the oriental garden with its amazing array of hostas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotary Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rotary Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing