We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet with superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ronco
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Gourmet with superb service”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were driving in the area and stopped for dinner. Everything on the menu was available and superb. We were the only diners and the service was prompt BUT not rushed. The wine list was fine. We were so very satisfied. The atmosphere, ambiance were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOCBABE_SCOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    97
    34
    20
    11
See reviews for
42
187
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just tried the restaurant and not the Hotel, the atmosphere is very nice, the food is ok, we did expect more because everything is home made and it is but the bread for example was not well baked and was half row, pity! In my opinion they overprice the place taking the advantage that it is the ONLY place there, so if you are hungry, it is there or nothing! And I think this is not fair and it is a dangerous game on long term.... We took for example a "Minestrone soup" in a small soup bowl, average taste, not good, not bad, for 13.- CHF, ( Swiss Francs) !!! Definitely to much !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponte1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Manager at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Google Translation
Siamo veramente spiaciuti di non aver soddisfatto le Vostre aspettative.
La assicuro che Il fatto che in questa stagione invernale siamo l'unico ristorante della zona non significa che ci possiamo permettere ogni liberta'.
Il fatto di non offrire alla nostra clientela prodotti precotti o di produzione industriale certo non puo' farci vendere un minestrone a 5 franchi. La quantita' delle zuppe e' standard pressoche in tutti i ristoranti Svizzeri. Sono reduce da una cena di pochi giorni fa ad Andermatt e la zuppa del giorno (sicuramente non fatta in casa-liofilizzata) mi e' costata chf 14.50. Cosi' come a Zurigo, anche se in qualche osteria costerebbe sicuramente meno.
Il nostro ristorante offre qualita' e piatti interamente prodotti in casa. ...Purtroppo e' quasi impossibile accontentare tutti. Anche se noi ci proviamo! :-))
Il servizio che le abbiamo offerto, (ricordo bene), le assicuro che e' stato dato con il massimo impegno che lei ci richiedeva.
Grazie comunque per la sua recensione che terremo in seria considerazione per il futuro.
Cordiali saluti e arrivederci.
MAURO
Direttore
CHALET STELLA ALPINA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent three days in the Stella Alpina in August 2012 for some hiking in the amazingly beautiful larch and pine forests. We got to know Mauro Oliani as a very helpful, hospitable, friendly and uncomplicated host, making our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. It was clear for us that we will return to this place in winter for some ski touring. What can be nicer than a hot sauna after a long day in the cold snowy mountains?

If you like simple, rustic rooms at a good value, a warm and gentle atmosphere, enjoy peace and silence in the evenings this is a perfect place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently spent a few days at the Stella Alpina up in Ronco Bedretto, where I was most impressed by the cosy atmosphere and the warm welcome I received.
Mauro Oliani and his team were ready to fulfil every wish and treated me with great respect and friendliness.
I would warmly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go skiing, snow-shoe walking or just to "get away from it all".

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostvoorne, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

a friend has booked this hotel in a first place for just one night as we would cycle the 3 passes the next day. we loved the familiarity with which we have been welcomed, despite we got there much later than expected the first day! mauro is a great host.
we liked it there so much, we decided to stay another night. we got a room in the chalet dei fiori: it's like a fairytale!!!! fabolous!!! we got access to the spa, enjoyed the sauna after our long bike trip and then we had a decious dinner at the hotel: the risotto with porcini and blueberry is absolutely delicious!!!
strongly reccomend it

Room Tip: the chalet dei fiori is an absolute magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugenia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked a superior room with the smartbox, but we were given the smallest room of the hotel with two seprate beds and a broken shower. When we asked to change room the manager said that the hotel was fully booked that was a lie because I checked on Internet and some rooms were still available. When the manager checked the shower, he confirmed that it was not functionnal and he gave me a screwdriver to open and close the cold water! This hotel is a joke

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank emoseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Direttore at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear customer,
'cause we would have to say that there were no free rooms if it was not true?!
We only have 10 rooms and on weekends we are always fully booked, fortunately for us.
The shower was broken. He's right. The problem 'that finding a plumber in a few hours' impossible here in the mountains. We apologize for the inconvenience.
I assure you that we work honestly, with passion and with the hope to satisfy all our customers.
We are delighted that the majority of customers appreciate our small mountain hotel.
Thanks for being our guest.
Mauro
CHALET STELLA ALPINA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked the hotel via booking.com and received a request from the hotel to cancel the reservation. As far as I understand, it's not the first time they do that, so please be aware.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Liketotravel802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Direttore at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear customer,
in our valley during the winter can 'happen that we are forced to cancel bookings of customers for bad weather (avalanche danger). We, however, 'always inform the customer, as we did with her.
It 'also happened some overbooking. We manage hundreds of bookings a year and unfortunately it happens to us to make mistakes. But fortunately and 'very rare for this to happen, however, and we have always offered our assistance to customers.
Thanks anyway for your review.
Goodbye.
MAURO
CHALET STELLA ALPINA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronco
5.5 mi away
Hotel Forni Airolo
Hotel Forni Airolo
#1 of 3 in Airolo
71 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
884 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#1 of 4 in Oberwald
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Wellness & SPA
24.4 mi away
Al Giardinetto
Al Giardinetto
#2 of 4 in Biasca
45 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 7 in Fiesch in Valais
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA

Property: Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA
Address: Regione del San Gottardo, Ronco, Bedretto 06781, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Bedretto > Ronco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ronco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Chalet Stella Alpina is beautifully situated in the heart of the Swiss Alps, 1,500 metres above sea level in the Ticino, south of the St. Gotthard Pass. Our non-smoking restaurant serves the best Italian cuisine and typical mountain specialties. The valley is perfect for hiking, horseback riding and relaxed walks. In winter, excursions with a horse-drawn coach are offered. The area is ideal for every kind of winter sport. Hotel Rooms: 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing