We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gotthard(Gurtnellen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ahorni(Oberwald)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alpenhof(Oberwald)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tannenhof(Oberwald)
View Hotel
Hotel Furka(Oberwald)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
132
106
40
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
106
40
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstella alpinarisottobreadfondueluxury suitevegan optionstwo nightsbreakfast buffetget awaywonderful placesauna and jacuzzinice staybeautiful viewgood sizecakedown the roadsmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 310 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked a superior room with the smartbox, but we were given the smallest room of the hotel with two seprate beds and a broken shower. When we asked to change room the manager said that the hotel was fully booked that was a lie because I checked on Internet and some rooms were still available. When the manager checked the shower, he confirmed that it was not functionnal and he gave me a screwdriver to open and close the cold water! This hotel is a joke

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank emoseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Direttore at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear customer,
'cause we would have to say that there were no free rooms if it was not true?!
We only have 10 rooms and on weekends we are always fully booked, fortunately for us.
The shower was broken. He's right. The problem 'that finding a plumber in a few hours' impossible here in the mountains. We apologize for the inconvenience.
I assure you that we work honestly, with passion and with the hope to satisfy all our customers.
We are delighted that the majority of customers appreciate our small mountain hotel.
Thanks for being our guest.
Mauro
CHALET STELLA ALPINA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked the hotel via booking.com and received a request from the hotel to cancel the reservation. As far as I understand, it's not the first time they do that, so please be aware.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Liketotravel802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Direttore at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear customer,
in our valley during the winter can 'happen that we are forced to cancel bookings of customers for bad weather (avalanche danger). We, however, 'always inform the customer, as we did with her.
It 'also happened some overbooking. We manage hundreds of bookings a year and unfortunately it happens to us to make mistakes. But fortunately and 'very rare for this to happen, however, and we have always offered our assistance to customers.
Thanks anyway for your review.
Goodbye.
MAURO
CHALET STELLA ALPINA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August 2011 en route to Italy.

Hotel is located in a very quiet, pleasant position.

Upon arrival we were offered what was called the penthouse which consisted of accommodation on two floors, the upper floor being a converted loft. The loft area only suitable for children as structual horizontal beam situated in the middle of the room at 1 metre height! The lower floor very comfortable with 2 balconies and great views.

The two front of house guys were very helpful and the restaurant was pleasant but expensive for what it was.

The hotel overall was good as a stopover as is close to motorway to Milan however the hotel was very expensive which to some degree wasn't helped by the Swiss Franc appreciating at that time against Sterling and other currencies.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skier69London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The staff were very welcoming to our group of 9 people during a recent driving tour of the Italian Alps. The rooms were well appointed, clean and beds comofortable. The food in the restaurant was good quality and value and the beers were normal prices!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clivedunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This hotel with typical decoration is located in a wonderful area. The view is absolutely fantastic. Staff seems to be very busy running the restaurant, bar, and hotel so you may need to be patient upon your arrival.

The room we were in was very clean and nicely decorated. There were however no electric sockets to be used outside of the bathroom.

Enjoying the jacuzzi area was a wonderful experience. You'd better use it in the afternoon though as it seems to be in maintenance in the morning.

Dinner was excellent. The hotel seems to have a fine selection of wine as well.

The main problem with this hotel seemed to the lack of information on the actual terms, conditions, and prices. We were not informed of the actual check-out time upon our arrival and it wasn't written in the room either. We were also asked to have dinner early, but other customers arrived much later and weren't turned down !

I would recommend this hotel but don't set your expectations too high if it's your first experience in a swiss chalet hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpson119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews