We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a family tradition!”
Review of Delta Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iron River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delta Lodge
Luck, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is a family tradition!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have been coming here every summer since 1986. Our family is grown now and whoever can fit it into their schedules - will join us for our week at Delta Lodge. This year our granddaughter who will be ten months will make her first visit to Delta Lodge. We enjoy the whole atmosphere Delta Lodge offers -- the cabins, beach, fishing adventures, swimming raft, the kayaks, coffee out on the screened in porch and the campfires...A week here is priceless:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calumet, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

So wonderful, we all shed a tear when it was time to leave. Our cabin was clean, with very comfortable beds and furniture. After one day, the owners seemed like old friends. Our dog thought she died and went to dog heaven. She ran with the Newfies, swam, ran in the woods and had a grand time.
We will be sure to go back. Delta Lodge is just lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband, young son and I have spent a week each summer along with my parents at Delta Lodge for the past 5 years and plan to continue this tradition as long as we can! So relaxing, quiet, homey with plenty of outdoor activities to keep us as busy (or as lazy!) as we want to be every day of our stay. The private beach is wonderful and my son burns off all his extra energy leaping and diving off of the pier and raft into the lake. Plenty of fishing, hiking, and biking right at the lodge. And just a short bike ride away is one of the best diners in the state, Delta Diner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

As the extended family mentioned by "Woodsman2014" I will not repeat everything he said - only agree totally that this is a wonderful place. We have brought our kids here since they were very small, along with 2 generations of dogs, and all continue to want to come, even in their mid-20s. Clean, beautiful, rustic, with lots to do outdoors and none of the distractions of civilization, unless you bring them along yourself (I love stashing the phone and computer and living without TV). Fun to hang out in the lodge, with a pool table, jukebox, and lots of games, and jigsaws to enjoy with other vacationers. Plenty to see in the area. Owners are wonderful as are the people Delta Lodge attracts. Made many friendships here. Definitely worth the 8 hour drive from the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Have stayed in several cabins. Love having a washer/dryer to wash the towels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Been coming up here since I was, literally, 1 year old (I am now very close to 60). As a child I knew Wes R, the original developer of the site in the post-WWII era. This place is so special and loved by my entire extended family. We started bringing our kids up here when they were young, and they only finally stopped begging to come when they moved out of the Midwest and were too far away and busy setting up their own households and careers.

Terrific place for both young kids and teenagers. The teens can run around and do whatever they want (stay up late, build campfires, take kayaks out at nite and watch the Milky Way/Northern Lights, talk, spot loons, play board games, billiards and Jinga , make "Puppy Chow", cookies and S'mores, and generally learn to live and interact in the "real (natural) world"). Quite, quite the blessing compared to our regular (ridiculous) lives of being chained to smartphones, Facebook, TV and Twitter! Far enough away from civilization and outsider influences that teens cannot really get into any trouble (i.e drinking or worse).

This is a relatively rustic resort that has all the essentials if you like to sleep in a bed, take a hot shower and have a basic kitchen for breakfast, lunch or a simple dinner. No air conditioning and no TV because you don't need or want either. Just the lake, the woods, the fresh air and the campfires outside. I believe WI-FI is being added sitewide, which could be a curse or possibly a slight blessing -- the jury is out on that one...

As others have said in some detail on the other reviews, there are plenty of activities to do onsite and in the surrounding area, depending on your preferences. Walk, hike, swim in lakes/streams/waterfalls, Lake Superior for swimming/exploring/kayaking and ferry rides, the Delta Diner within an easy walk for an awesome old-fashioned homemade breakfast treat. Fishing, swimming, kayaking, canoeing and boating in the very deep, very clear lake. Sitting outside in the Northwoods with a good book will probably be rewarded with a visit from a friendly chipmunk at some point..

You may hear an occasional motor on the lake, but that is rare as it is not big enough to really require a motor - so most folks avoid their use. The lake is big enough to be a Lake, but it is an easy paddle around the circumference in a kayak or canoe.

Kitchens are well equipped with plenty of cooking utensils, gadgets and baking and cooking pots, pans and dishes and have decent cabinet space to store a week or more of food. No dishwasher (who needs it).

God willing,I will coming back regularly until they throw me into the nursing home!

Room Tip: All the cabins are rustic, but nice. All have screened-in porches for a place to play cards in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodsman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmette
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We are 3 generations of a family who have driven 8 hours for 7 years for the "delta" experience: campfires with somemores, swimming in a great lake all day, waking to the songs of loons, kayaks, canoes, rowboats available for all to use. We found it on the internet because of their welcoming dogs and kept coming back despite the distance. Love that there aren't motorboats; very peaceful. We enjoy the potluck meal hosted by the owners on Monday night to meet the other visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallydwilmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have traveled to summer Wisconsin resorts for a few years and Delta Lodge is by far our favorite. Our two boys, 10 and 15 love going. We missed one summer and they were so disappointed. Tons of outdoor activities and easy excursions. We have always met other nice families and the kids find friends to hand with. Super relaxing for parents.

Room Tip: No pool but the lake is clear and wonderful to swim in. Sandy bottom. Rooms further from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F10rence4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iron River
21.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
23.3 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
605 reviews
20.0 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
173 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
67 reviews
19.9 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Lodge

Property: Delta Lodge
Address: 13565 Scenic Dr, Iron River, WI 54847-4542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Iron River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Iron River
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing