We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Winzer Stube

Winzer Stube
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Great food in my opinion. Authentic German beer on tap. Dale, one of the evening entertainment singer's, is awesome, after seeing him at the Winzer Stube I asked him to sing at my wedding reception. He did and he was a hit.

Helpful?
Thank ironman610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    58
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great date night”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at the Winzer Stube in Hudson. It is one of our favorite places to eat. The food is always delicious, the service is great, and the city of Hudson is a quaint place to visit. The atmosphere is very pleasant, and we love having German food. Marie and her staff make you feel special. You should take the time to head to Hudson for the best German food in this country.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMike58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Aspergarus Festival”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Five gals visited Winzer Stube for Asparagus Festival. The A. soup was very good. I have never had white asparagus and it was so tender and goood. It was interesting to have the waitress explain how white asparagus is grown and how rare it is. 3 of the gals had never been there before and were very pleased with the food and the amount.served. It was a very pleasant evening. We will re-visit again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trudy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVAGE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome German Food”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you like German food this is a place to go. It is in the basement of an old building down town Hudson. The atmosphere is authentic along with the food. It is some of the best German food I have had for awhile. Great menu and fair prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JIL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ehhhhhh….Slightly below avg.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Visited over Easter weekend and it's a favorite of my sister-in-law, whose family lives nearby in River Falls. They love this place. As others have said, there is no view whatsoever, as it is in a basement. Because it was Easter Sunday, it wasn't busy at all. Service was pretty quick. I tried the mushroom cream soup and ordered the currywurst, having had it in Berlin several times. The soup was good, could definitely tell it was homemade but I felt it was a little watery for being a cream soup. Flavors were good and had plenty of nice size 'shrooms.
The currywurst had two sausages that were good, BUT, they were drowning in the curry/ketchup slop of a sauce. Just way too overpowering for the sausage. I had to scrape the sauce off the wursts so I could actually taste them. Just way too overpowering. Fries were good though. Crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. My wife's schnitzel was better but she remarked it was a little on the dry side.
My wife is Deutsch and we have traveled to Deutschland several times and we both remarked that it's impossible to compare this place to food in Germany so maybe I'm being a little harsh in my review. But we have also had better German food in Milwaukee at Karl Ratzsch's and Mader's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank civicnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winzer Stube also viewed

 

Been to Winzer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing