We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not to Shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson House Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hudson
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to Shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place looks like it is out of the 70's. The rooms are ample and clean. There is wifi available but found at times it was difficult to connect to. My friends enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Seems the hotel could do a little sounds proofing. The nights they do concerts the customers and get loud in the halls and hear them in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
27
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stop here on our way home from dropping the kids off at college in Minneapolis every year. Love the wood ceilings in the older wing. Very clean, comfortable and quiet with an up north vacation like feel to it. Lots of nice restaurants close. Like the made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I recently stayed here for 3 night while he was trying out for hockey.
Very clean and comfortable, especially the big recliner that I wanted to take with me!
Free breakfast, not the pre-made, but made to order!
Staff very friendly, priced right and great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floatmanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It very nice to know that when it came to the wedding reception for my Daughter, It was all under control with working with Carla and her ideas ahead of time. The food, rooms and reception area was great. We had a number of guest that commented on how they loved the reception area and the food, and they spoke very highly of the service from the wait staff. Thank you Hudson House Grand Hotel for making apart of my Daughters special day a success with or your hospitably expertise and idea's.

I would and will highly recommend the Hudson House Grand Hotel,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was very nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast included with the room was very good with excellent waitress.

This facility needs some soundproofing done yesterday. People in the next room talked all night long and we could hear them. Makes it hard to sleep. Also people actually running in the hallway. When in the hallway, light could be seen around the door to the room, so you know they don't fit tight enough to help with sound.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minntac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just held our 2nd rug hooking retreat at the Hudson House Grand Hotel. Breakfast was great, the lunches were great with awesome service, and the rooms were pleasant and very clean. It was a pleasure to work with the staff in coordinating this event for 36 women--I did not have a single complaint for the second year in a row. We especially appreciate the wonderful lighting in our work rooms. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality in the hotel's fireside lounge. We are looking forward to next year's rug school at the end of January 2014 at the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: The large suite room with the jacuzzi is a great space with vaulted ceilings and wonderful privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time dining or attending a show at the St Croix Off Broadway theatre located in the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

We were sooooo pleased! Dinner was excellent! The appetizer was great and large enough for two. We both had prime rib, cooked differently, and they were both cooked perfectly. We had a bottle of wine recommended by our wait staff and she got that perfect too!

The show was funny and exactly what we expected it to be. Then after the show, they had a live band (Function Junction) set up in a banquet room just for us. They handed out the party hats and noise makers and gave us each two full glasses of champagne to toast in the new year.

We stayed till it closed down. We didn't stay overnight as we had doggies to get home to, but I wish we would have. The place is awesome. We will definately be back next year for this event!

Oh, you can find the dinner theatre's schedule at stcroixoffbroadway.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 9 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Hudson
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#6 of 9 in Hudson
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Grand Hotel

Property: Hudson House Grand Hotel
Address: 1616 Crest View Dr, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016-9408
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hudson House Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing