We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere”
Review of Pier 500

Pier 500
Reserve with OpenTable
Pier 500 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: We are a gathering place for friends and family, essence of hospitality in casual, comfortable surroundings. We create made from scratch dishes and cocktails with an incredible view of the Saint Croix River from being seated either inside our beautiful restaurant with the wood-fired rotisserie or outside on our patio with a full service bar.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I ate inside because it was fairly windy out. Nice selection on the menu, along with discounted "Happy Hour" prices on certain items. Good food at decent prices. The staff was friendly. I would definitely consider eating here again if I was in Hudson again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cass S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    155
    43
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best deck with a view!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Pier 500 is the place to be in the summer in Hudson. The large deck has great views of the St. Croix river and an outdoor bar. But get there early, it can get crowded.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_Whalen_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, reliable food - VERY big portions”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is definitely a premier and premium spot to dine in Hudson. The food is reliably good, bordering on great at times, but several of the ingredients seem to come from the freezer more often than fresh - we personally prefer fresh. They change up the menu throughout the year so one never gets bored, although if they came up with more NEWLY created items rather than remaking a recent item, we'd visit more often. They know how to cook fish and steak. The patio has a fab view and lovely drink options. The only things we'd change would be the customer relations (at times varying from stiff, to completely unhelpful and uncaring) and having more menu items with much smaller portion options. It's no good taking home 1/2 a salad or dinner if it's not going to be good the next day. We do ask them to split many items into two plates, and they do it with pleasure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot to meet in Hudson”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Not upscale fine dining, but very good food choices and great atmosphere especially in the summertime with outdoor seating and an outdoor tiki bar. Decent wine selection. Full bar. Great bartenders and waitresses. Drink and Appetizer each day until 6 and ALL DAY SUNDAYS. Parmesan Shrimp and Mushroom Truffle Flat Bread are excellent. Steaks are great. Good burgers - oh hell it's all good. And outside you get a nice view of the St. Croix River. Great spot for a warm evening outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice view, but bring your $$”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Right on the St. Croix River, best view in town. Spendy, and qestionable consumer relations. I wrote a letter after a visit expressing my dissatisfaction when one of our party of 8 meals arrived when everyone else was done eating- I recieved no response at all, and I asked for a response in my letter. I got the notion, "if you don't like it, get out of the way". Now I do get out of the way, and go some where else most of the time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_and_Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier 500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing