We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just too snobby”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier 500

Pier 500
Reserve with OpenTable
Pier 500 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: We are a gathering place for friends and family, essence of hospitality in casual, comfortable surroundings. We create made from scratch dishes and cocktails with an incredible view of the Saint Croix River from being seated either inside our beautiful restaurant with the wood-fired rotisserie or outside on our patio with a full service bar.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just too snobby”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I went there one night looking to hit the social scene of Hudson. All anyone there would talk about is how much money they make, or about the things they own. This isn't the kind of place you'd want to go to, unless you want to hear that kind of nonsense.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Celeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    149
    41
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ridiculously crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stopped for a drink after walking along the river. This place has a huge deck and it's still not enough. We did manage to snag a table, in the corner, by the door, with people jostling by and no view. The drinks were well made & the server friendly, but if you want to eat, make reservations.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-the-Spherical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The Best Food In Hudson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Order the Walleye it is world class. In the summer outside dining is a must. Never a bad meal.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSTT3959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

A comfortable environment with good food and great views.

Helpful?
Thank OutofLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, WI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the place to be on a Friday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was given a gift certificate for this St. Croix River-side restaurant and had put off the occasion because there were always crowds at the outside tables and bar. We chose a cool October evening thinking it would be less crowded - not so!! Their website suggests reservations, and they are NOT kidding. We arrived and were told there was a one and one half hour wait. The bar was mobbed, and noisy so we chose to wait outside. Happily, the bartender served us at the outside bar, and we enjoyed a lovely chat while we waited for a table

We chose appetizers: Ahi tuna, and crab-cakes - both served promptly. Entrees were New York strip and blackened salmon, excellent but interestingly served with asparagus (in October?) . We capped the dinner with Berries crisp dessert (large enough to share) filled with fresh berries, vanilla bean ice cream and crisp pieces of oatmeal cookies. My dinner partner wished for espresso to accompany his dessert, also no espresso machine on the premise.

Wonderful service throughout the evening. Even though the restaurant was at capacity, we were treated with care and attention.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpociengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier 500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing