We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, fast service and huge portions”
Review of Dragon Pearl

Dragon Pearl
Ranked #36 of 93 Restaurants in Hudson
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service and huge portions”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stopped at the Dragon Pearl for dinner with our kids because they said they had wanted to stop before, but never got around to it. The interior reminded us of a Chinese place we often ate at in Central MN. Pretty sparse on decor, but we think that is overrated if the food is good.

We were quickly greeted, given beverages and our orders taken soon thereafter. The cream cheese wontons arrived quickly and were hot and tasty. We'll get those again. Not such a fan of the egg rolls, though. We each ordered a different item and shared. Chicken Lo Mein, Chow Mein, Hot & Spicy Szechuan Chicken were all really fresh and tasty. The heat was a nice, slow buildup over a few minutes. Awesome!

We'll be back! Saw the Sesame Chicken go by and it looked to be my next attempt!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good food, very filling”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We had the Mongolian beef, sesame chicken and cream cheese wontons, alittle pricey but everything was very good and left there full and content, totally recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Metmagic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent but not OUTstanding.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We didn't eat in, we took home take out. The boys ordered the chicken Lo Mein, which was very fresh tasting with white meat chicken and flavorful sauce. I had an order of the egg rolls which honestly I couldn't finish once I bit into a piece of bone and some "nasty bits" of cartilage. The cream cheese wontons were tasty and I like the unique shape almost like a Pierogi. The fried rice was PHENOMENAL. My hubby ordered the Orange Peel Chicken which could have been better if the breading on it wasn't soggy from the sauce. All in all decent but somewhat inconsistent in it's dishes as far as quality. I will reevaluate once I try more from the menu.

Helpful?
Thank mzzshawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chinese buffet - need I say more?”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you're in it for quantity over quality, this is your place. # of items on a buffet is not how I quantify my eating experience, but the food was hot and refreshed when we went.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fast Chinese food, lack luster atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our family frequents this restaurant at least once a month and love the food. It's not cheap but it is delicious. The restaurant really could use a facelift.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HTPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Pearl also viewed

 

Been to Dragon Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing