We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Royal Inn - Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Inn - Hudson
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My sister and I were traveling together and wanted a quiet, dollar friendly place to stay. We had a very good night sleep, the room was dated but very clean. Check in clerk was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. It was also close to several restaurants - highly recommend the bagel shop north on Carmicheal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank deb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. We are happy to see you found a quiet, dollar friendly place in Hudson. Also glad to hear that you had a good nights' sleep and a very clean room. Hope you enjoyed your quick night in Hudson and hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Royal Inn - Hudson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoy this motel. This is not the first time and won't be the last to come here. The rate is reasonable, the folks are friendly & caring. It is a clean, maintained, independently run facility that is easy to get to. We feel that we receive good value here.

Room Tip: Rooms along the backside were not too noisy. You can hear the Hwy when near the entry door, but not...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our property. It's guest like you who have stayed with us before who make us want to give the service we do. Glad to see you feel that yo receive "good value" with us; that's our goal! Hope to see you in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We needed an inexpensive place to stay that was clean. This motel fit the bill. The exterior is older and needs some work, but the room was nice and clean. We were even given an upgraded room and I still don't know why. A simple place, but it fit our budget. Friendly employee at the front desk. He even called us to see what we thought of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBearsinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay through TripAdvisor. We are proud to be a inexpensive place in the area who still offers a clean room with Free Wi-Fi.

We agree, our hotel is older and does need work, but just like our teachers used to tell us, "Don't judge a book by its cover."

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

we must travel to hudson often and always choose royal inn because its excellent service the friendliest staff and meticulously clean rooms. we have stayed at the big chain motels in town for alot higher rates but royal inn has them beat on sevice and thier manner of making guests feel very welcome

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear the staff was friendly and the room was "meticulously clean".

As a 1-star underdog motel in Hudson, it's hard for guests like you to give us a try when there are many beautiful hotels in Hudson and we are so glad you decided to give us a try! It seems like it was worth the try!

Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you in the future!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was a nice hotel. Like the other comments, when we pulled up, I wondered what I would find because it looked older, but certainly not run down. We were pleasantly surprised. Rooms are are somewhat outdated but have a nice coat of paint, were super clean and the staff is nice. At check in the person waiting on me asked what we were in town for and gave us information about the event we were there to see along with other helpful tips and clues. We were a little worried about the heater, but it had no problem keeping up with the negative temperatures outside. It was easy on/off the interstate and close to many attractions, shopping and restaurants. Downtown Hudson is just down the road making this a perfect spot if you plan to visit downtown. I also liked the fact that we could park right outside our door and didn’t have to carry our gear very far. The room is small, but really all we needed and the refrigerator and microwave were a nice addition as well. We couldn't beat the price! I would defiantly stay at this hotel again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmatyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Like we say, "Don't judge the Royal Inn just by its exterior" and a similar quote "Don't judge a book by its cover" is definitely true in all aspects of life. Glad to see my staff was helpful in providing information for your weekend.

Guests wanting more room should opt-in for our deluxe room, featuring 1 King or 2 Queen beds and are more spacious than our standard rooms. All rooms do come with microwave and fridge so everyone can enjoy the convenience without paying extra, no matter what room they stay in at the Royal Inn unlike other hotel rooms in the area.

Hope to see you again next year!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When my husband and I pulled up outside the Royal Inn I was not so sure if I had picked the right place. These thoughts were quickly put to rest as the gentleman behind the desk was fabulous and the room was spotless! He even called up to our room to make sure everything was okay. Best service I've ever had and the price was great. I like that I didn't pay for a breakfast that I won't eat anyway. It was very quiet also (even with the highway nearby).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in November. We are very happy to hear about your experience with us!

Just like we say, "Don't Judge the Royal Inn just by its Exterior", we are glad you looked past it and found your room to be spotless and quiet. The person at the desk can definitely make or break your stay, and we will congratulate him on that.

In regards to price, we try to keep our prices in comparison to other hotels in town, cutting out the "extras". Guest can use the savings to have a real, hot, American breakfast and not just a continental breakfast and we are glad you like our idea.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just passing through for one night. Location was easy to find. Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable room. Coffee & fresh fruit available in the am in the office. Would recommend to others and stay again!

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 story building in the back.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisgood234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently when you were passing through. We are happy to hear you found your deluxe room in the back to be very clean and have friendly staff. Glad to took advantage of coffee and fresh fruit in the chilly weather! Hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#6 of 8 in Hudson
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn - Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn - Hudson

Address: 1509 Coulee Rd, Hudson, WI 54016-2165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn - Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Hudson WI Hotel features a 2-story, exterior design hotel offering 30 guest rooms which all have standard amenities such as Sealy Posturepedic Series Beds, Satellite TV with premium channels ,Microwave/Fridge, FREE Wi-Fi & Local Calls, Print/Fax/Copy Services, and FREE Local Calls. In addition to standard amenities mentioned above, some of our rooms also feature Amana High-Efficiency Digital AC/Heating Unit, Hairdryers Bathtub/Shower, and Curved Shower Curtain Rods. With just 20 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul area, Hudson WI has many attractions to offer including Willow River State Park, variety of fast-food and sit-down restaurants, and the beautiful historic downtown near the St. Croix Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Inn - Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing