We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Royal Inn - Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Inn - Hudson
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Readstown, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When my husband and I pulled up outside the Royal Inn I was not so sure if I had picked the right place. These thoughts were quickly put to rest as the gentleman behind the desk was fabulous and the room was spotless! He even called up to our room to make sure everything was okay. Best service I've ever had and the price was great. I like that I didn't pay for a breakfast that I won't eat anyway. It was very quiet also (even with the highway nearby).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in November. We are very happy to hear about your experience with us!

Just like we say, "Don't Judge the Royal Inn just by its Exterior", we are glad you looked past it and found your room to be spotless and quiet. The person at the desk can definitely make or break your stay, and we will congratulate him on that.

In regards to price, we try to keep our prices in comparison to other hotels in town, cutting out the "extras". Guest can use the savings to have a real, hot, American breakfast and not just a continental breakfast and we are glad you like our idea.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
21
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just passing through for one night. Location was easy to find. Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable room. Coffee & fresh fruit available in the am in the office. Would recommend to others and stay again!

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 story building in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisgood234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently when you were passing through. We are happy to hear you found your deluxe room in the back to be very clean and have friendly staff. Glad to took advantage of coffee and fresh fruit in the chilly weather! Hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Reasonable rates, a great night desk clerk with a cool personality, a clean room and decent locks make this stay adequate. I would recommend this Inn for anyone on the road. Some of the rooms are handicap accessible. Your given complementarity soda and chips upon check in and there's no pool or fitness center. What I like most about the place was the quietness of the rooms. The Inn is right on the highway but you don't hear anything. I recommend the owners mask the smell of their cooking by using a anti smoking/odor spray.

Room Tip: If you have physical limitations ask for a handicap room. If you like quietness ask for a room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Glad to see our desk clerk has a cool personality (especially after a long day), fully equipped rooms with micro/fridge in all rooms, but most importantly, a clean room. Also glad to hear your room was quiet even though we are right off the highway.

We are sure you won’t be back anytime soon in this area, but we would definitely love having you back the next time you’re in the area.

Hope you had a safe travel,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very reasonable rates, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff. Only thing I would recommend is raised toilet seats and grab bars in bathrooms for the elderly or handicapped. No complaints, very satisfied with our recent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for using TripAdvisor to share your experience at the Royal Inn. Glad to see you were very satisfied with your stay, including our Sealy Posturepedic beds and helpful staff. We will definitely take your recommendation for raised toilet seats and grab bars during our next renovation.

Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hi, this was a good and clean place, older rooms but fresh supplies. Very comfortable, nice guy to make reservations. Everything worked well. lots of places to eat or gas up near.
Mapquest directions seemed a little off? But I saw the sign and turned on the road to get there.

Room Tip: I was on the back side away from the main road, was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Mangement at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your helpful review on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear your comments about a good and clean place, because that is one of our main goals. Like you said, we do have older rooms but it is offset by the fresh supplies, friendly staff, and up-to-date rooms.

We are sorry to hear that directions seemed off. We will check our MapQuest listing and correct any information that is incorrect.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you had a safe trip home and see when your travels bring you in our area!

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Saj and Vic really went the extra mile to make my stay a pleasure and they checked in numerous times to be certain I had everything throughout my visit. They re friendly and are very willing to go the extra mile to be certain all was good in all accounts. Very hands-on and not afraid to do the work rather than hand it over to somebody else. I will be a return visitor soon and expect the same amazingly awesome care. Thanks guys., Keep up the good work.
Quote someone sent me...

Room Tip: Excellent Stay! Saj and Vic are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere review for your stay on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear that my staff went the “extra mile” to make your stay a pleasure. It can be hard to be sure everything throughout your stay is good on all accounts and it’s great to hear your stay was great.

Like Saj said, when making a reservation, be sure to call us directly or visit our website to avoid outrageous booking fees by third-party websites.

Thanks for staying with us in November and we welcome you back when on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This place was ok. Rooms weren't fancy, but we didn't expect fancy at the price we were paying. Front desk staff was friendly, and the location was convenient for a drive into Minneapolis. Generally clean. They could've used some bleach in the corners of the bathroom though. Sheets on one of the beds had some makeup powder in one spot, probably from one of the housekeepers since the rest of the sheets were clean. Towels and carpet were clean too. Frankly at the low price we were paying, I was just greatful it wasn't completely gross.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s glad to hear our front desk was friendly because they are the one who can make or break your experience. Towels and carpet both factor into a guest’s experience and we are happy they were both clean.

We are planning a bathroom renovation for a couple bathrooms this year, but that doesn’t mean we can let our standards drop. We are sorry to hear about the bathrooms corners. We do take complaints personally and we personally assure you that we will be checking the bathroom corners for cleanup in the coming days.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience, hope you give us a second chance to serve you better, and we personally welcome you back on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hudson hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#6 of 8 in Hudson
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn - Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn - Hudson

Property: Royal Inn - Hudson
Address: 1509 Coulee Rd, Hudson, WI 54016-2165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn - Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Hudson WI Hotel features a 2-story, exterior design hotel offering 30 guest rooms which all have standard amenities such as Sealy Posturepedic Series Beds, Satellite TV with premium channels ,Microwave/Fridge, FREE Wi-Fi & Local Calls, Print/Fax/Copy Services, and FREE Local Calls. In addition to standard amenities mentioned above, some of our rooms also feature Amana High-Efficiency Digital AC/Heating Unit, Hairdryers Bathtub/Shower, and Curved Shower Curtain Rods. With just 20 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul area, Hudson WI has many attractions to offer including Willow River State Park, variety of fast-food and sit-down restaurants, and the beautiful historic downtown near the St. Croix Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Inn - Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing