We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Royal Inn - Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Inn - Hudson
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Saj and Vic really went the extra mile to make my stay a pleasure and they checked in numerous times to be certain I had everything throughout my visit. They re friendly and are very willing to go the extra mile to be certain all was good in all accounts. Very hands-on and not afraid to do the work rather than hand it over to somebody else. I will be a return visitor soon and expect the same amazingly awesome care. Thanks guys., Keep up the good work.
Quote someone sent me...

Room Tip: Excellent Stay! Saj and Vic are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere review for your stay on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear that my staff went the “extra mile” to make your stay a pleasure. It can be hard to be sure everything throughout your stay is good on all accounts and it’s great to hear your stay was great.

Like Saj said, when making a reservation, be sure to call us directly or visit our website to avoid outrageous booking fees by third-party websites.

Thanks for staying with us in November and we welcome you back when on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
30
21
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This place was ok. Rooms weren't fancy, but we didn't expect fancy at the price we were paying. Front desk staff was friendly, and the location was convenient for a drive into Minneapolis. Generally clean. They could've used some bleach in the corners of the bathroom though. Sheets on one of the beds had some makeup powder in one spot, probably from one of the housekeepers since the rest of the sheets were clean. Towels and carpet were clean too. Frankly at the low price we were paying, I was just greatful it wasn't completely gross.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSpec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s glad to hear our front desk was friendly because they are the one who can make or break your experience. Towels and carpet both factor into a guest’s experience and we are happy they were both clean.

We are planning a bathroom renovation for a couple bathrooms this year, but that doesn’t mean we can let our standards drop. We are sorry to hear about the bathrooms corners. We do take complaints personally and we personally assure you that we will be checking the bathroom corners for cleanup in the coming days.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience, hope you give us a second chance to serve you better, and we personally welcome you back on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

First off; I have never stayed at this motel.
Why am I submiting a review?

Well, I had a credit slip in the amount of $320.00, for Menards.
I lost it. Anyone could have used it.

The owner of this motel found it and did an extensive search to locate me.
He phoned me, I went there and he returned it.
He wouldn't accept a reward.

What can I say. It was good to meet such an honest man.
This is not a luxury motel, more on the discount side.
But If I need a place to stay, this would be my first choice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyC984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello,

We are glad the credit slip was returned to the correct owner, which was you. As you said, anyone could have used the credit that day, even us, but we know that honesty is the best policy. Since it was such a large credit, we did not want Menards to handle the situation because they might not pursue the owner or could have even kept it so we felt it was necessary to step in and find the owner ourselves.

This review was not necessary for you to write but we appreciate you sharing your experience with our staff and management at the Royal Inn - Hudson.

Again, we are happy that the credit slip was returned to you and we definitely welcome you and your extended family to the Royal Inn - Hudson if in need of lodging in the future.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here while in town for a wedding. Couldn't find a better price, and the location offered many things to do during our downtime. Our room was small, but clean, and the staff was friendly. The walls were thin and we could hear our neighbors, but given the price I can't really complain too much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicTeacher124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear your room was clean and staff was friendly, as we are always trying to push for cleanliness. Our management also pushes for value, and it’s great to hear you found your room a ‘great value’.

We do apologize that you could hear your neighbors. If you feel that they are disturbing in any way, we encourage guests to directly call the office and let us know. Please don’t be afraid to call the office if they are disturbing. We know the last thing you want to lose is sleep, if you have a long day ahead such as traveling or activities planned.

Since we located near I-94 and Hudson has offers many things to do, Hudson makes it a great stop, especially for travelers. Hudson has many things to keep an outsider busy, such as a State Park, the river, plenty of dining option, as well as night life.

Thanks again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We would like to personally welcome you back on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you are looking for a bed extremely close to the freeway and want to save a dollar. This hotel is fine. We found the room clean, the bed comfortable and the staff friendly. Wi-fi worked well and the room had a nice Refridgerator and microwave. The couple complaints my wife and I had was the water pressure in the shower was real bad, and the room had no coffee pot supplied for a hot cup in the morning. So you have to walk over to the hotel office to get one. However, coffee is always on and free of charge. Also there was no continental breakfast offered although there was some snacks supplied next to the coffee. Would I stay here again? Sure, but would ask for an upstairs room for the noise issues we had.

Room Tip: If freeway noise bothers you, turn on the fan on the air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience online with TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear that your room was clean and the Sealy Posturepedic beds were comfortable, as guest satisfaction is one of our goals. It’s also great to hear that the staff was friendly and the Wi-Fi worked well. We hope you also took advantage of the free micro/fridge we have in all rooms.

However, it seems that we were not performing to our usual standards for the shower experience, and we do regret that we did not meet your expectations. I just want to let you know that we are taking action from your experience you had to ensure guest satisfaction for all guests. Feel free to call the hotel directly or email one of us if you would like to know how we are progressing, or to see if we actually taking action or not.

In regards to coffee, we are glad guests like you take advantage of the free coffee and snacks in the office. In addition, we will take your feedback and comments into consideration to have a coffee pot supplied in our guestrooms in the future.

Again, thank you for your sharing your experience, hope you give us a second chance to serve you better, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I didn't think this is a hotel chain so it ended up being better than what I expected. It's right next to I-94 so the traffic noise might be an issue for someone people, but it ended up helping me sleep (like white noise). I had my dinner delivered from "Green Mill" which was excellent! The staff was very happy and helpful. The view outside my window was of a small neighborhood street which was nice as opposed to many other corporate hotel types. Great for someone passing through, but it also seemed to be close to some great places Hudson has to offer as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you think the highway noise is too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that your room was better than what you had expected, which is what we like to hear since we are not a hotel chain! It’s also great to hear my staff was helpful to make your experience enjoyable in Hudson, recommending a few places to eat like Green Mill.

Since we do have easy access to the I-94, the slight traffic noise may an issue for some travelers, but hopefully our Sealy Posturepedic Beds gave you a good night’s sleep for your long trip. Like you said, we try our best to accommodate guests on the back side, so guests have a quieter experience, but we can’t always do that, especially when it’s busy.

We will use your feedback to continue implementing the standard you’ve received with all of our guests. Again, thank you for your comments/feedback and look forward to travelers like you who make our job an enjoyable one.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

A group of 20 people were being picked up by a party bus at the park & ride down the street. With 4 of us in our early 30's in the room drinking our first beers of the night waiting to go down the the park & ride the management called and threatened to call the police if we didn't "TAKE THE PARTY ELSEWHERE" There was no noise no drunken wild behavior. They were watching out of a window to see how many people were in the room to justify charging an extra $10 per person. regardless of how many actually stayed in the room (2).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeremyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

We welcome all constructive criticism, but our management and staff feel that your review is dishonest and misleading even though honesty is the best policy.

To provide a safe and secure environment, it is not uncommon to see security camera systems at hotels all over the country to watch out for guests and their vehicles.

On behalf of the management, please accept our apology if we “threatened to call the police.”
For the comfort and safety of all hotel guests, the Royal Inn enforces a No Party Policy. We kindly request all hotel guests to be responsible to themselves as well as other guests because our intent is to provide you with not only an enjoyable and comfortable stay, but also a safe one.

The employee saw that there were more people than what you had reserved. The employee gave you a heads up about the extra person charge and you said your friends were not staying. The following morning, the staff saw the unregistered vehicle (which was your friends) still there and during check-out you were told to pay for the extra person charge. You threatened the employee that you will write a bad review if we charged $10 and left without paying.

We have not and will not charge $10 for the extra person charges but your statement “THEY WILL CHARGE IT AFTER YOUR GONE” unfairly suggests we have charged you even though we clearly haven’t. If we have charged you, please fax a copy of the charges and we will be more than happy to refund you the amount, no questions asked. Although customer service is important to us, we feel we have the right to investigate any claim and pursue legal action that is dishonest and misleading before responding.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#5 of 8 in Hudson
94 reviews
7.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn - Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn - Hudson

Property: Royal Inn - Hudson
Address: 1509 Coulee Rd, Hudson, WI 54016-2165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn - Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Hudson WI Hotel features a 2-story, exterior design hotel offering 30 guest rooms which all have standard amenities such as Sealy Posturepedic Series Beds, Satellite TV with premium channels ,Microwave/Fridge, FREE Wi-Fi & Local Calls, Print/Fax/Copy Services, and FREE Local Calls. In addition to standard amenities mentioned above, some of our rooms also feature Amana High-Efficiency Digital AC/Heating Unit, Hairdryers Bathtub/Shower, and Curved Shower Curtain Rods. With just 20 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul area, Hudson WI has many attractions to offer including Willow River State Park, variety of fast-food and sit-down restaurants, and the beautiful historic downtown near the St. Croix Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Inn - Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing