We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for me”
Review of Royal Inn - Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Inn - Hudson
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I didn't think this is a hotel chain so it ended up being better than what I expected. It's right next to I-94 so the traffic noise might be an issue for someone people, but it ended up helping me sleep (like white noise). I had my dinner delivered from "Green Mill" which was excellent! The staff was very happy and helpful. The view outside my window was of a small neighborhood street which was nice as opposed to many other corporate hotel types. Great for someone passing through, but it also seemed to be close to some great places Hudson has to offer as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you think the highway noise is too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that your room was better than what you had expected, which is what we like to hear since we are not a hotel chain! It’s also great to hear my staff was helpful to make your experience enjoyable in Hudson, recommending a few places to eat like Green Mill.

Since we do have easy access to the I-94, the slight traffic noise may an issue for some travelers, but hopefully our Sealy Posturepedic Beds gave you a good night’s sleep for your long trip. Like you said, we try our best to accommodate guests on the back side, so guests have a quieter experience, but we can’t always do that, especially when it’s busy.

We will use your feedback to continue implementing the standard you’ve received with all of our guests. Again, thank you for your comments/feedback and look forward to travelers like you who make our job an enjoyable one.

Warm Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

A group of 20 people were being picked up by a party bus at the park & ride down the street. With 4 of us in our early 30's in the room drinking our first beers of the night waiting to go down the the park & ride the management called and threatened to call the police if we didn't "TAKE THE PARTY ELSEWHERE" There was no noise no drunken wild behavior. They were watching out of a window to see how many people were in the room to justify charging an extra $10 per person. regardless of how many actually stayed in the room (2).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeremyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

We welcome all constructive criticism, but our management and staff feel that your review is dishonest and misleading even though honesty is the best policy.

To provide a safe and secure environment, it is not uncommon to see security camera systems at hotels all over the country to watch out for guests and their vehicles.

On behalf of the management, please accept our apology if we “threatened to call the police.”
For the comfort and safety of all hotel guests, the Royal Inn enforces a No Party Policy. We kindly request all hotel guests to be responsible to themselves as well as other guests because our intent is to provide you with not only an enjoyable and comfortable stay, but also a safe one.

The employee saw that there were more people than what you had reserved. The employee gave you a heads up about the extra person charge and you said your friends were not staying. The following morning, the staff saw the unregistered vehicle (which was your friends) still there and during check-out you were told to pay for the extra person charge. You threatened the employee that you will write a bad review if we charged $10 and left without paying.

We have not and will not charge $10 for the extra person charges but your statement “THEY WILL CHARGE IT AFTER YOUR GONE” unfairly suggests we have charged you even though we clearly haven’t. If we have charged you, please fax a copy of the charges and we will be more than happy to refund you the amount, no questions asked. Although customer service is important to us, we feel we have the right to investigate any claim and pursue legal action that is dishonest and misleading before responding.

Thanks,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Royal Inn was clean and neat. Not a new place. Our room had the nice room set up where the shower and stool are in a room with a door and the sink is right outside - which is very handy. It's located just off I-94. We were in the back row of rooms and the traffic noise was just noticeable - not bad at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillLearning261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, General Manager at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your willingness to review and address your problems online which sometimes eliminates those awkward moments of truth telling face-to-face. It’s great to hear you did find your accommodations clean and neat. In addition, I’m also glad you liked the shower and sink setup in different sections; it does come in handy especially in the morning!

Since we do have easy access to the highway, the slight traffic noise may bother travelers from time to time, but hopefully our Sealy Posturepedic Beds did gave you a good night’s sleep. On my behalf, please accept my apologies for any disturbance the traffic noise may have caused you, if any and using your feedback, I'll try my best to make the Royal Inn a little more quieter in the future.

Again, I appreciate your comments and feedback and would appreciate if you keep us in mind the next time you visit Hudson, WI. We look forward to serving you as well as other guests better in the future!

Thanks,
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Marcio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn - Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Hudson
74 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#8 of 8 in Hudson
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
6.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn - Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn - Hudson

Address: 1509 Coulee Rd, Hudson, WI 54016-2165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: $57 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn - Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Hudson WI Hotel features a 2-story, exterior design hotel offering 30 guest rooms which all have standard amenities such as Sealy Posturepedic Series Beds, Satellite TV with premium channels ,Microwave/Fridge, FREE Wi-Fi & Local Calls, Print/Fax/Copy Services, and FREE Local Calls. In addition to standard amenities mentioned above, some of our rooms also feature Amana High-Efficiency Digital AC/Heating Unit, Hairdryers Bathtub/Shower, and Curved Shower Curtain Rods. With just 20 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul area, Hudson WI has many attractions to offer including Willow River State Park, variety of fast-food and sit-down restaurants, and the beautiful historic downtown near the St. Croix Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Inn - Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing