We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to ring in 2014”

The Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Hubertus
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In 1845, the first clerk of Washington County built a quaint, one-room cabin in the wooded, rolling hills of the northern Kettle Moraine. Nearly 90 years later, Ray Wolf, an avid horseman, restored the cabin, added a basement bar and opened it to fellow equestrians. It soon became headquarters for many a fox hunt, and so the name, “Fox & Hounds” was a natural when the Wolfs opened their restaurant in 1933. You’re invited to relive your wonderful memories of time spent at the historic Fox & hounds and share new memories with us at The New Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great way to ring in 2014”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It has become a family tradition to go to the Fox and Hounds for New Years dinner. Once again we had a fabulous meal and outstanding service. The atmosphere is cozy and comfortable even on a very busy night. We were in one of the smaller dinning rooms with a fireplace. Being in the smaller dinning room gave us the opportunity to talk in the larger dinning rooms it might be hard to hear. The surf and turf was perfect and very reasonable priced for the night $32.00. They have been able to retain the rustic atmosphere while still being elegant. Looking forward to next year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickyp600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    103
    79
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love the ambiance”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I hadn't been to this restaurant for over 30 years. I remember it being crowded back then and that is still true today. We had a 5:30 reservation and were seated right away. When we were leaving things were much more backed up causing reservations to run at least 30 min late. We were seated in a cozy corner, next to a window that had a beautiful winter view. Our server, while trying to be attentive, was challenged by the amount of people he had to take care of. The food was very good. The Fox and Hounds was offering a buy one get a meal free on the night we were there. All in all, we had a great time. I would advise others to make reservations for an earlier time slot, if at all possible.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 534PatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tally Ho! Let's go to Fox and Hounds”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Fox and Hounds is a supper club in Huburtus, Wisconsin that has quite a history. The original building was built as a residential cabin in 1845. Years later, the cabin was restored and remodeled and became a place for hunters to meet, hence the name. The restaurant opened for business in 1933 and has been going strong ever since. We were there to have a holiday meal with three other couples.

I chose a rib eye steak which was perfectly done. It was served with flavored butter, mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables, and a salad. My husband had a porterhouse steak which he thought was a bit dry.

One of the unique features of the restaurant is that the items on their two-page entrée spread are available two for the price of one. Desserts, including ice cream drinks, are also available 2 for 1. Since there were eight in our party, the four least expensive items were dropped from the menu (entrees and desserts), and we were charged for the remaining items. We split the bill evenly. The cost per couple was $50, and this included drinks that some in the group ordered, as well as an 18% gratuity which is automatically added to groups of six or more.

I don’t know how regularly we will go to Fox and Hound, but I know we will be back. I’m hoping that dinner there with our friends will become an annual tradition.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dare2BGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is not fine dining”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went out to celebrate my wife's birthday with our family, and looking forward to a laid back dinner in a rustic setting. We live in the area so are expectations are reasonable. Our waitress was pleasant and the food was OK. Unfortunately, the acoustics are harsh and the atmosphere is generally quite loud. On top of this, we had the misfortune of sharing the room with a large drunken party of local hillbillies. We were uncomfortable, and the management couldn't care less. If you enjoy a rousing and raucous night of shouting at your tablemates then you will love it! The 2-for-1 meals bring in the Chuck-e-Cheese crowd. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic, intimate, or special evening then definitely look elsewhere

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much Improved”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The first time I went I was underwhelmed with service and food.
Then went to a family function and left impressed with the food and value of buy one get one free entree policy.
The service was better but be prepared to wait even with a reservation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Fox & Hounds Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing