We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled at our first B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horicon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Horicon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience. Our stay at the inn was wonderful! As a honeymoon getaway, we truly fell in love once more. The atmosphere made it easy to be romanced and the owners were extremely hospitable. We would highly recommend this B&B if you're looking for fun activities, amazing breakfast, and attention to detail. We were spoiled rotten! The Honeybee Inn is a "must-see" for B&B goers!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thelovebirds0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 232 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2007

A beautiful old building with a carriage house. Stained glass windows and charm. Fred and Barbara do a fantastic job as hosts. They made us feel at home. Breakfast on the Veranda (porch)

1  Thank WisconsinRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed at the Honeybee Inn August 06 and 07. Each time we were able to stay only a single night, and we wish we'd had a lot more time.
This is a lovely place in beautiful rural Wisconsin. Barb and Fred have lovingly transformed this wonderful Victorian home into a fabulous B&B. Their breakfasts are multi-coursed, delicious and plentiful.
It's worth the trip just to see their staircase landing with the magnificent stained glass.

We have stayed in the Honeybee Lodge room and the Queen Bee Victorian room. Both rooms were lovely and share a small deck that's perfect for relaxing and reading. The Queen Bee Victorian has a magnificent 2-person shower complex in the large, well-lit bathroom, nice amenities and a 2-person soaking tub in the room. We've peeked into other rooms and found them lovely and well appointed. If we'd had more time, we would take advantage of the extensive movie collection. The only 'bad' thing I can say is the free high-speed laptop connection was very slow - but that's a very small inconvenience. Sometimes it's slow at home, too.

The location in Horicon is great - within pleasant walking distance to downtown, the Blue Heron Landing, nice parks and stores. You must make an effort to go to Blue Heron landing to explore Horicon Marsh. They offer canoes and kayak rentals as well as guided pontoon tours. The proprietors are very nice - we got rained out of our tandem kayak tour and they offered to let us return the next day no charge.

We will definitely return to HoneyBee Inn on our next Wisconsin trip. More time is needed to enjoy the front porch with it's wicker swing and the extensive library collection in the beautiful common room. We travel a lot and always stay in B&Bs where possible. This is one of the nicest we've had, and we highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowboygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

The best bed & breakfast we have experienced so far. My husband and I have stayed at a few nice bed and breakfast inns in the past, but the Honeybee Inn has spoiled us for any others. First, we were greated by a sign on the front porch welcoming us by name to the inn. Innkeeper Barbara showed us around the inn and then brought us to our room which was beautiful (Honey Pot Cottage). Little amenities and details like complimentary beverages, chocolates on our pillow, and a wonderful smelling sachet in the closet where the luxurious robes were found were such nice touches. The care the innkeepers have taken to make this place special was obvious. In the evening we played a relaxing game of scrabble in the living area and talked with Barbara's husband, Fred, who gave us the history of the house. We slept like babies. In the morning the breakfast was out of this world. Served to us on the porch, Fred presented a beautiful melon ball salad topped with raspberry sorbet followed by stuffed french toast (with cream cheese and pecans), honey sausage and roasted breakfast potatoes. We look forward to returning in the future with friends. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GSVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

My husband and I never had a honeymoon, so for my birthday we went to the Honey Bee.....Let me tell you, they do not leave out a thing! The house was unbelievable! Everything was nice and clean, and the food was great! Everything was just right, from the Welcome sign with our names on it, to the yummy strawberries and relaxing cruze package. This was truely a birthday that we will never forget! Thanks Barb and Fred!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rkfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

The Inn looks like it was just finished yesterday, everything is new. A wondeful place to stay. I enjoy the country view getting there, the Marsh and of course, Barb's wonderful breakfast. My second year to visit, I hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

This 105-year-old mansion in the village of Horicon, Wisconsin, is a beautiful place, but perhaps even finer is the owner, Barbara K., who is gracious, accommodating, and helpful in all ways. She also whips up the gourmet breakfast that will amaze you. She gives a fruit course along with a main course featuring eggs or a souffle or French toast. The rooms are very, very nice, too.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JimBobVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horicon
5.2 mi away
The Audubon Inn
The Audubon Inn
#1 of 1 in Mayville
291 reviews
9.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
15.7 mi away
Westphal Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 611 E Walnut St, Horicon, WI 53032-1221
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Horicon
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horicon
Price Range: $139 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honeybee Inn is a Queen Anne/Craftsmen style home built in 1902, with 5000 sq. ft. Four individually decorated guest rooms have gorgeous fireplaces, whirlpools, feather beds and shower spas. Delectable, gourmet multi-course breakfasts, are served every morning. Honeybee Inn is located a few blocks from the Horicon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, the largest freshwater cattail marsh in the US. People come from all over the country to birdwatch, canoe, bike and hike in this natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeybee Inn Bed And Breakfast
Honeybee Hotel Horicon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing