We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey of a place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horicon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Horicon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Honeybee is a delightful, gracious bed and breakfast. My wife and I spent one night here in November as part of our trip to view the migrating waterfowl at Horicon Marsh, and don't think we could have found more comfortable and inviting accommodations.

The early 1900's house is large, gracious and immaculately restored. The common rooms are attractively furnished with late-Victorian furniture. The large living room is stocked with books and games if you want to spend some time indoors. The large, darkly wooded dining room is set with two tables for four. On the morning we were there, a gas fire was burning warmly in the fireplace.

Our bedroom was high-ceilinged, spacious, bright, clean and comfortably furnished with a four-poster bed, side chair and table, dresser, and bedside tables. It had a flat-screen TV discreetly tucked behind cabinet doors above the fireplace.

Two bookcases on the large landing outside our room were stuffed with tapes and DVD's of movies both old and quite recent that you can borrow for viewing in your room. Also on the landing were a refrigerator with complementary bottled water, complementary popcorn and a microwave to pop it in, and a Flavia coffee and tea maker.

A previous reviewer complained about the Flavia machine as somehow being inappropriate or inadequate, but we found it to be a useful amenity. It's a high-end machine that rapidly makes single-serving cups. There was a wide variety of choice of hot beverages. As tea drinkers, we were particularly happy with it. The ubiquitous hotel in-room coffee makers are useless for making tea, because they infuse everything with the taste of stale coffee. This was a much better option.

In our stays at a dozen or so bed-and-breakfasts, we've found two distinct approaches to breakfast. Some provide a serve-yourself buffet with a wide time window for dining. Others offer table-service breakfast at a fixed time or times. Neither is better or worse, they are just different. The Honeybee is table-service breakfast, with three dining times to choose from. The service is wonderful, the food is excellent, and the atmosphere relaxing.

The owners are gracious and friendly, and truly seem happy to have you as their guest. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 232 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed in the lodge room. It was so romantic and cozy. The Inn is gorgeous, your hosts genial, and the breakfast to die for.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeowDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I spent one night here with my son, daughter in law and daughter. My daughter and I had the Honey Pot Cottage, and my son and his wife had the Honey Dew Lodge. Both rooms were wonderful-the weather ws beautiful so they could enjoy a little quiet time on the shared sun porch off of their room. My daughter and I loved the canopy bed in our room--she loved the pillows! Barb also arranged for us to take a sunset cruise on the Marsh. It was interesting to see the "inside" of the Marsh-the White Pelican was my favorite, but there was also Blue Herons and Green Herons. The choclate covered strawberries in our room when we returned were soooo good! Thank you for giving us such wonderful memories. It was wonderful to see both you and Fred after so many years. You have done a spectacular job of restoring and furnishing this home--but more than that you have fill it with character, charm and love. THANK YOU AGAIN! ZELDA SHIMADA

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zelda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Honeybee. The owners are very cordial and very pleasant. We rented bicycles from the Inn and had a lovely ride around the marsh in Horicon. The breakfasts are amazing! Everything is homemade and fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whosgotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I took my gal here for our 1 year anniversary and it was better then even I expected. She absolutely loved it and we had a great time together. The sunset cruise was great, the chocolate covered strawberries were delicious, the room was nice and cozy and the feel you get at the Inn is just like home. Barb and Fred were great as well and the food was the best i've ever had. THe experience was perfect and we are definitely going there again. i'd recommend this place to anyone looking to get away and spend time with their partner. It's romantic and an experience that we'll never forget. THANKS!

Room Tip: The victorian room is great and i'd highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teshy1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in June 2011 for our 10 year anniversary. The quality of the food, accommodations, and service all met or exceeded our expectations. We were looking for a high quality inn for an affordable price. Most of the inns we found were low end or super high end (very expensive). The HoneyBee Inn fit the bill for our budget and was still very high quality. We would gladly recommend it!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pilotctk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The pictures are beautiful but they don't even begin to do this wonderful B & B justice. The house is beautiful, the attention to detail amazing, the food absolutely delicious and Barb and Fred really make you feel at home. Everything about our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMC728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horicon
5.2 mi away
The Audubon Inn
The Audubon Inn
#1 of 1 in Mayville
291 reviews
9.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
15.7 mi away
Westphal Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 611 E Walnut St, Horicon, WI 53032-1221
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Horicon
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horicon
Price Range: $139 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honeybee Inn is a Queen Anne/Craftsmen style home built in 1902, with 5000 sq. ft. Four individually decorated guest rooms have gorgeous fireplaces, whirlpools, feather beds and shower spas. Delectable, gourmet multi-course breakfasts, are served every morning. Honeybee Inn is located a few blocks from the Horicon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, the largest freshwater cattail marsh in the US. People come from all over the country to birdwatch, canoe, bike and hike in this natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeybee Inn Bed And Breakfast
Honeybee Hotel Horicon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing