We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour”

Horicon Marsh Boat Tours- Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Horicon
Certificate of Excellence
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

For $20 received a two hour birding tour in the Marsh piloted and narrated by a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. I recommend strongly to go on this tour if you are interested in the marsh and birding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GRC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lomira, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
305 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun outing for adults and kids”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a great time, seeing parts of the marsh unaccessible any other way. Easy to access for seniors, entertaining even for kids. Great wildlife.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wondrous Marsh Journey”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Want to see a flaming orange Oriole hop about on a tree? Want to learn to listen for the “pee wee” of the Eastern Wood-Pewee Flycatcher or witness a Bald Eagle parent guarding its nest with a newly hatched eaglet? Then take the Horicon Marsh Birding adventure. We took the 2-hour tour on a chilly, partly cloudy Sunday morning and spotted forty-two bird species. It’s a magical tour through the marsh waterways as swallows of all kinds cut through the air around us. Our guide, Marc, was an encyclopedia of marsh habitat and wildlife knowledge. We learned about how the marsh water levels are controlled and how to identify birds by their call or shape. Marc would cut off the engine so that we could see a particular bird or listen for a call amidst the bird orchestra. We won’t forget the American White Pelicans with their nine-foot wingspan, glistening in the morning sky as they circled above, or the Russian Olive bushes’ heavenly scent. Marc explained that the boat engine is a newer and quieter model that doesn’t disturb the habitat, making it an eco-friendly adventure. I highly recommend this boat tour to appreciate the beauty and the unique ecosystem that is the Horicon Marsh.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Birding Tour!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We love birds and had read that the Horicon Marsh was an excellent place to see a wide variety of birds. So, we reserved the sightseeing tours with the Horicon Marsh Tour. Mark was an excellent guide! He has many years of experience with birding in this area. He is very knowledgeable about the many indigenous as well as migratory species. He can spot by sight and sound, and is very excited to point out the birds so that you can easily enjoy viewing and noting their calls. He is also very environmentally conscious. The pontoon boats have newer motors that use very little fuel, and you can hear the birds while moving down the river and marsh area. You are able to see many species of birds on the boat tour that you do not see when driving or walking around the marsh – we saw and heard 42 different birds on Sun morning (May 26th). We had a wonderful time! Great value!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dalaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Horicon Marsh in late fall”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The pontoon ride into the Horicon Marsh was very interesting. Our guide provided us with a lot of information. It was a cloudy, cool day, but the magic of the marsh still was apparent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank seaturtle30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horicon Marsh Boat Tours- Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Horicon Marsh Boat Tours- Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing