We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Throwback Motel at the Right Price”
Review of Royal Oaks Motel

Royal Oaks Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horicon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oaks Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horicon
Nicollet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quaint Throwback Motel at the Right Price”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a clean tidy place that was priced right. The setting with the beautiful oak trees was relaxing and charming. This is definitely not a high brow place, But the owners are nice, friendly and ready to make you comfortable. We were very happy with the our stay and recommend this hotel for those of you who are money conscious and interested in a good night's sleep without the fancy towels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theguysm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this motel while visiting Horicon Marsh. It was very clean and the owner/manager was extremely friendly and helpful. It is a little old and could use some renovation in spots, but overall very comfortable and close to where we wanted to be. One complaint--water tastes and smells strongly of sulphur. Recommend you take bottled water--fridge and microwave are in rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just spent a very nice weekend at the Royal Oaks. Owner was very helpful and friendly. Very reasonable rates, and pet-friendly. Park-like setting with huge oak trees, quiet. The odor from the water was a sulphur smell from the "well" water. Noticeable but not bad. Shower was strong, with plenty of hot water. We love the Horicon area, and will stay here again. Thanks for being pet-friendly!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveB092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

On the plus side, the owners are very friendly and helpful, the room very clean, the grounds beautiful and the bed comfortable.
However, other than the new flat-screen TV and Dish channels, everything in the room is quite old and rundown. Worse, though: the water in the taps (shower and sink) reeked of sewage and had an oily feel. It was rather disgusting.

The loction, on the edge of lovely Horicon marsh (don't miss out on the nature hike, at the end of Palmatory st., 5 minutes away), and the price, are both good. But really, is a decent shower too much to ask for?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

a mom and pop in a beautiful location- surrounded by oak trees on the edge of a friendly town good reasonable places to eat- great places to hike and enjoy nature.-
This is not an upscale fancy scmantzy hotel but clean, reasonably priced and with all the necessary stuff-WIFI TV,hot water, good matresses,have windows and screens that work all at good price.
They welcome dogs and people!!
I wish hotel chains would try to emulate some of these things

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank devin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I often try to stay at the local mom and pop type motels, and some have been pretty sketchy. The Royal Oak is the kind of place that you hope it will be so that you are pleasantly surprised. I stayed here during a WisAm event. The motel was reasonably priced, comfortable and CLEAN! Nothing fancy, but simple, HONEST, comfortable motel. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank chessiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horicon
6.4 mi away
The Audubon Inn
The Audubon Inn
#1 of 1 in Mayville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
8.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
13.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
14.7 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
20.3 mi away
Super 8 Columbus
Super 8 Columbus
#1 of 1 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oaks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oaks Motel

Property: Royal Oaks Motel
Address: W4419 State Road 33, Horicon, WI 53032-9730
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Horicon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horicon
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing