We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prairie Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmen
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife, three year old daughter, and myself stayed here for one night on our way to South Dakota.

This hotel is clean, the staff is friendly -- and honest. The clerk had trouble with my credit card when I checked in and moved me to a different room. Unknown to me, the new room was cheaper and when I checked out the following morning, the clerk reduced my rate.

The breakfast was good and there was plenty of food.

The location was convenient as well -- a couple of miles north of I-90 -- right next to highway 53.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank virgilfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
21
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Travelling with my wife and stopped here after a long day. It was mid-week and one other car in lot. Staff very friendly. Room and areas very clean. Towels and sheets above average for price range. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLHTCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

I was in town on business and stayed here two nights. The hotel has a nice rustic decor to it but as someone who travels frequently for business there were a few things that I found lacking. The first night I hardly slept at all because I could hear people coming in and out of their rooms most of the night. The rooms do not have Wi Fi, but a cable is provided for high speed that you can get at the front desk, but I had to physically move the desk to attach it. The maid left her cleaning rags in my room and I thought that was kind of gross. I also pulled back my bed and found a hair in the sheets. I understand that it happens, but I would just rather not know that it does. There is not a hair dryer in the room, but you can get one from the front desk. The beds were a bit hard. The TV did have 75 channels to choose from. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, but my fridge wasn't plugged in.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — lack of amenities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mjsGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Stayed for a wedding and have to say the hotel was warm and inviting. Rooms were CLEAN and that says a lot about the property. Thick towels and sheets were above average for a small property. Nice continental breakfast and the lounge was pleasant to sit in and talk to family.

Will definately stay there again when visiting!!!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing, it fit all my needs for this stay
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdanielsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Great NEW Hotel near the Wisconsin-Minnesota border. Nice sized rooms with high quality beds. Staff was friendly and the cont. breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend this Hotel if you are traveling to the area. Does not have that big hotel feeling. Locally owned and it shows in the service!!

  • Liked — Very Clean and Comfortable!
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bp235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in early July and paid about $86 a night after all the taxes and service fees.
The hotel is only a couple years old, and it is very clean and nicely decorated with modern touches. The rooms included a small refrigerator, which was a nice perk. Another nice touch: instead of using regular shampoo and soap products, the room had fancier Rusk shampoo, conditioner and lotion.
The people on staff were very friendly and always willing to help if we had any questions. The hotel has whirlpool suites, though we did not stay in one. The hotel serves a very elaborate continental breakfast including coffee, orange juice, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, french toast and waffles.
There were a few small things we thought were lacking, however, considering the relatively high price for the area. The TVs didn't have any premium channels, as many other hotels of the same price do, and there was no hairdryer in the room.

Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmen
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
131 reviews
5.0 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Inn and Suites

Property: Prairie Inn and Suites
Address: 3913 Circle Dr, Holmen, WI 54636-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Holmen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prairie Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Prairie Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Hotel Holmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing