We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's so easy to be up there - this is the Northwoods life!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hazelhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black's Cliff Resort
Madison, WI
1 review
“It's so easy to be up there - this is the Northwoods life!”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Yes, it's true that these are rustic cabins, but this is a unique and wonderful property for boating, swimming, hiking, fishing and just relaxing. Everything was very clean and the kitchen is fully stocked with everything from wineglasses to a spoon rest. The swinging bed is worth the stay all by itself. We just let our hair down and enjoyed the beauty of the lake and the charm of the cabin. We've stayed in cabins before and this one was definitely the most comfortable and inviting. It feels like you are borrowing a cabin from a close friend, not renting an impersonal space. The owners were great - they just showed us to our cabin which was all ready for us and said to come by if we needed anything (we didn't). We also got nice visits from their very polite dog.
It was just the two of us, but one of the two nights we borrowed my 11 year old nephew and his friend. So easy to let kids run around and just do their thing! Great swimming lake. We just put life jackets on them (available for use down by the shore) and let them have at the boats and the lake.
Tips: Cabin is very clean, but a little sand gets tracked in easily. If this bothers you, you may want to bring a pair of slippers or house-only shoes - but we didn't really care and we just made sure we wiped our feet coming and going to minimize this.
Trig's Grocery has great wine, meat, and produce. And a great beer selection.
Claim the swinging bed first!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pelikandaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My family stayed for a week in the Wigwam, a rustic Northwoods style 3 bedroom/1bath cabin. The furniture in our cabin was very clean, comfortable, and it coordinated well. Our cabin had a large screened in porch (with a swinging bed), a small living room with flat screen TV & VCR, a couch and sleeper/love seat and 2 recliner chairs. The adjoining kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed for cooking meals and all appliances were full sized. Outside was a fire pit, BBQ, picnic table, a swinging glider and several chairs---the perfect setting to enjoy roasting marshmellows. The lake was beautiful, but we didn't use the boat/canoes while we were there (we ran out of time). We were able to get wireless internet in our cabin (from the office across the road) which was good because it allowed us to check email and do "work" online. We spent most of our time relaxing and visiting the Northern Lights Playhouse in Hazelhurst to see theatre shows. If we lived closer or had someone to visit in the area, we would definitely stay @ Black's Cliff again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Broken furniture and appliances, no amenities at all, several things in the cabins and on the resort were in such disrepair that they were downright unsafe, the cabins look like they were decorated with odds and ends of unsold rummage sale leftovers. And that's not the worst part. The worst is the service or the lack of it. The place is run by unbelievably rude and unresponsive management who has no business being in this business. It is on a great lake in the beautiful Northwoods. If you want rustic cabins than maybe its worth another look if management changed, but not until then. There are lots of other rentals out there. Run away as fast as you can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank phamleetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackscliff, Manager at Black's Cliff Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Please read all the other reviews of our resort to see that this review is not the way most folks feel about our resort. We run a very well maintained and up to date resort. You have but to look at our website to see we are one of the nicest resorts in the MInocqua Area.

It is sad that one person can use Trip Advisor to take out a personal issues by trying to ruin our reputation. I will let the other reviewers speak for themselves as to the quality of our resort and reputation as a friendly, well maintained, place to take your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We have stayed at Black's Cliff's for 5 years now. We call this our new family tradition. As written elsewhere, this is how "Up North" was once upon a time. Whispering pines, clear blue water, quiet, relaxing, friendly. Close enough to Minaqua to partake in mini-golf, bike trails, nature parks, go-karts and so on. Free ski show at the Landings. For a young family the playground at the camp site is engaging, simple, safe and not over powering. For those looking to step out of the daily grind, slow down and take life at a slower place, Black's Cliff is the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wis.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

Black's Cliff is the kind of cabin resort that used by everywhere in nothern Wisconsin. This is a great place for families with kids ages 7-14. The younger kids may find the lake a bit cold, and older ones may want more action.

Black's has cabins of all sizes perched on the shore of Lower Kaubashine Lake. A steep climb down the stairs brings guests to the sand-bottom swim area with a dock and swim raft, rowboats, kayaks, a pedal boat, inner tubes and other water toys. Each cabin comes with a rowboat, and outboard motors are availalable for rent. The pontoon boat also can be rented. Black's has a small playground for kids.

Cabins are clean but basic. This is not a five-star property with lots of services. Owners Jenny and Troy are friendly, available and accomomdating, but these are northwoods cabins. Most have fireplaces, and don't miss the swining beds on the screened porches. There are no phones in the cabins and limited TV reception, but that's just one great reason to disapper into the northwoods. This is the kind of place where families come back the same week every year for generations. I've met people who have returned every year for more than a half century.

The Bearskin State Trail is a short distance away for snowmobiling, biking or hiking, and fishing is good on the lake (panfish, bass, northern and the occasional musky).. Jacobi's, one of Wisconsin's top-rated restaurants, is a few miles away. Minocqua offers go karts, mini golf, candy and ice cream shops, a waterpark, horseback riding, free waterski shows, fish hatchery tours, wildlife parks and other activities kids will love.

Helpful?
6 Thank Staceylmnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazelhurst
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
4.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Beacons of Minocqua
The Beacons of Minocqua
#1 of 8 in Minocqua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aqua Aire Motel
Aqua Aire Motel
#4 of 7 in Minocqua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black's Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black's Cliff Resort

Property: Black's Cliff Resort
Address: Lower Kaubashine Lake, P.O. Box 125, Hazelhurst, WI 54531
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hazelhurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hazelhurst
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing