We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant does a great job, with occasional exceptions”

The Steakhouse & Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steakhouse & Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have eaten here several times in the past couple of years:
Private banquet #1: Civic group event. Food OUTSTANDING, which is a major challenge for a banquet.
Private banquet #2: Non-profit group event. Prime rib underdone/tough. Yuck. Even carnivorous spouse didn't like it.
Fish fry #1: elegant, well done!
Fish fry #2: average, unremarkable, service excellent (Guy)
Cocktails & appetizers: good, but inconsistent service. Have to wait at the bar for another cocktail as no one came to the table, sometimes wait was with good reason (busy), sometimes not (bartender, NOT Mike, visiting with regulars).
Staff generally VERY pleasant, professional, efficient.
Bartender Mike, formerly of Famous Dave's, is, of course, amazingly gregarious. Or should I say, a "hoot?"
Peggy, the manager, is very professional and great to deal with.
Several long-term waitstaff employees who know what they're doing.
Even though there have been a couple of disappointments, we'll still go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSRubato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 38 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed one night at the Steakhouse and Lodge for a wedding. The Restaurant was closed for the wedding, so we did not receive the Steak dinner - offered on regular nights. I do not know the the price was adjusted to no meal. (about $70/night).

You have to call directly for reservations, as there is not an on-line system. Just a note - if you smoke in a non-smoking room or bring a dog they will charge a $150 fine to your credit card.

The building is set up like a traditional motel. 16 rooms in a line. My husband LOVED the room - all done in log siding. We had two queen beds. The room had a 3 foot high frig, microwave and coffee pot. Each room has sliding patio doors.

The food and decor of the Steakhouse were a pleasant surprise. The wedding was held there in front of a huge fireplace. Chairs were then moved and tables replaced. We were served steak for our dinner. Others said chicken dinner was delicious. The room was decorated for fall. The room is surrounded by animal heads, horns, etc. Very Up North.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Five friends staying in a B & B decided to eat here. It wasn't very busy, which was a shame because the food was excellent. The dining room is huge yet it had a very comfortable feel to it. Tables of all sizes are available. At our table for five, we could all see and hear each other and have a wonderful conversation. Service was a bit slow because there was only one waitress but she was ultra-personable and competent. We just wanted to sit and talk anyway. Great drinks, ambiance, food and service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank aging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went here the Sunday night of labor day weekend and the place was super quiet. Probably not a good sign, but I was soon pleasantly surprise. The other people I was with all had different cuts of steak. Everyone seemed to enjoy. I had the seafood pasta, which was awesome. Lots of seafood and very tasty. Definitely worth going back for.

Room Tip: Did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillybean_stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Have never stayed at the motel so this review is related to the attached Steakhouse Restaurant. The food here is GREAT. They have a nice selection of pasta, chicken and of course steaks. There is a special every night. We like their Friday fish fry - baked or deep fried fish served with baked chicken too. Fish fry comes with rolls, soup or salad, potato, cole slaw and the fish and chicken. We have not been disappointed. The price is a tiny bit more than you'd pay for a standard fish fry around here but the quality is far better than many places we've tried so far so we think it's well worth it. AND you get the chicken too. I would also recommend their house specialty salad with the greens, walnuts, cranberries and balsamic dressing - it's worth the small upcharge to add it to your meal. It's a large dining room and accomodates a lot of people but I'd suggest to call ahead and put in a reservation during the busy summer and holiday seasons just to make sure you'll get a table. This place also serves as a banquet hall so at times they get busy with bookings and parties although there is also a separate bar area with a few tables for walk-ins. Entrees are in the $15 to $25 range with optional add ons. A nice wine list and bar selections. Wait service is very good, attentive wait staff and reasonable serving times on the food. This is one of our favorite places for dining out in the Hayward area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank FoofusPKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Attended a wedding reception here and it was fantastic!! The venue was beautiful, the staff were wonderful and the food was simply amazing! It is often difficult to facilitate 200 plus guests, but the Steak House did a truly terrific job!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorieet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We dined here two years in a row and the food and service were great both times. The blackened filet, the crab stuffed walleye, and the porterhouse were excellent!


The only negative was the hostess, she didn't greet us, and never smiled the whole evening. The first person you interact with, normally sets the tone for the evening. Hopefully, she was just having a bad day, and isn't like this everyday.

We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmyWife1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayward hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Hayward
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Hayward
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 15 in Hayward
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#15 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#5 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
#14 of 15 in Hayward
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steakhouse & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steakhouse & Lodge

Address: 15860 T Bone Ln, Highway 27, Hayward, WI 54843-5600
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Lumberjack Steakhouse Motel And Banquet Hotel Hayward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing