We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh boy!! A super find and great addition to Hayward”
Review of Steve's Kitchen Cafe - CLOSED

Steve's Kitchen Cafe
Cuisines: American, Soups
Restaurant details
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Oh boy!! A super find and great addition to Hayward”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are so glad we went here!!!!! (Floor to Ceiling Store recommendation.) Very cute place, and a wonderful lunch. The best potato soup I have ever had. Not heavy. It's thickened with baked potatoes and then quartered precooked small potatoes added. It was delicious. My husband and I both ordered the "Steve's" half salad with the soup. Good salad too. Steve has an open kitchen and is very friendly; recommended a beer for my husband. He is from Illinois and was an accountant who always enjoyed cooking. I praised the food and especially the soup so much, he gave us each a delicious oatmeal cookie. Location is on 2nd Street, two blocks from Main Street, so it's away from the congestion during tourist season. Parking available or on street. Get a menu at the front, place your order, and it is delivered to you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEDEE1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely come back! ”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My family has been coming up to the Hayward area for years and Steve's Kitchen Cafe is a great little lunch spot! My husband and I stopped in and had a glass of wine and their lunch special and it was DELICIOUS! Very unique and trendy! Would recommend for anyone looking for a quaint lunch location. Oh

Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Hts., IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, salads, and desserts!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Steve's opened in May of this year. It is a great addition! We had the Asian-inspired pork meatball panini, chicken panini, and chicken pesto salad. All were very flavorful. Save room for the desserts as they too are delicious. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
“Good lunch spot!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great little spot tucked away next to the residential area of town. We had a couple sandwiches, soup, and dessert and some was amazing and others were average. Met the owner and he seems creative and likes to research new dishes. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdubwenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bucket List”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a brand new restaurant in Hayward Wi. My niece just got a job there and I am trying to get there to eat. I heard all good things.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stanzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing