We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I can't wait to go back; I would stay there all...”
other travelers have booked this property
Runamuk Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
The porch - one of our favorite rooms...
Another photo of the porch
Outdoor dining patio
Fishing map uncovered during renovations.  Note the original owner's secret fishing spot markings.
Great sandy beach, clean and gentle sloping lake.
Beautiful sunsets; pretty lake
The best sunsets...
The living room looking towards the lake
The living room from a different angle.
The Living Room Fireplace
Sitting area
The kitchen
The kitchen from another view
The banquette dining nook (seats up to 12)
The kitchen from yet another perspective.
Master Bedroom with king-sized bed
Master bath
Main level lakeside bedroom with double bed
Main level bedroom with double bed
Main floor bath with shower/tub
Upper level lakeside bedroom with queen bed
Upper level lakeside BR dressing area
Upper level bath with shower
Upper level bedroom with two twin beds
Perfect room for kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hayward, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen S
Ellsworth, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't wait to go back; I would stay there all year long!”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is beautiful and placed on the lake where it has a lovely view of the sunsets. The lake home is warm, inviting, and very high quality with lots of custom work. Every rug, lamp, piece of furniture, and fixture is beautiful. The decorating is professional, with great attention to details that add character and charm. I wish I could live there. With five bedrooms, three bathrooms, a fabulous screened porch, and spacious kitchen with dining nook, all being wood (including the ceilings), I would need help keeping it as polished as it is. If I didn't need to maintain it, it would be a dream house. The bedrooms all have room darkening shades, curtains, or wooden shutters to enable you to rest, relax, and dream long past sunrise. The porch lets you have the feel of being in the woods, yet the screens offer protection from pests. The patio and outdoor grilling area is very nice, with table and seating that is pretty and comfortable. We played yard games in the spacious grassy area between home and lake, and we enjoyed the fire pit in a circle of Adirondack chairs. Our dog also loved it and was happy to be invited. We ran errands in nearby, Hayward. There are many stores, specialty shops, unique bars and restaurants, and attractions. There is even a doggy store with homemade treats, toys, outfits, etc. My husband and I are planning to take our family back next summer. Our children are in their twenties and it was the perfect get away for all 8 of us. We rented a pontoon this year and next year we may add jet skis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake home was so peaceful, beautiful, and ready to move in and enjoy.
Liked least: Having to leave our lovely vacation roost behind.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We're raving about our stay at Runamuk Roost!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at this beautiful lodge for a week and had a wonderful time there. We were 14 in all and had room for everyone (4 were kids). We loved having the kid-friendly lake so close and spent a lot of time in/on the water, jet skiing, pontooning, swimming, and fishing off the dock. We also biked every day and enjoyed the lumberjack show in Hayward. We hated to leave this lovely place and definitely recommend it as a destination. The home is very welcoming and warm and the amenities were super; the owner is an awesome host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to beautiful family-friendly lake, a lodge that fit our family
Liked least: Having to leave?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmerickso...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The pictures of Runamuk Roost don't do it justice. The property, both inside and out, were absolutely gorgeous! The area was quiet and peaceful. Although we didn't do any fishing we saw plenty of fish constantly. Sitting at the end of the dock to watch the sunset over the lake is a must. I was quite surprised to find the owners had thought of and provided for a lot of little things such as firewood and bodywash. We had some special circumstances with our stay that the owners graciously accommodated for. Hayward was close by and had some interesting spots to visit. I can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcie W
Augusta, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect getaway for our extended family to meet up and enjoy some time together. The "cabin" was beautifully decorated and had a great home feeling to it. The kids had a wonderful time playing outside and doing a little bit of ice fishing, Jim was a great help when we checked in, telling the guys where a few hot spots were. We could not have asked for a more perfect setting to relax with family.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold T
Kiron, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful - not a more perfect place”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a family Christmas at Runamuk. It was so clean and comfortable we did not want to leave. It's was the right size for our extended family of 12. The fireplace was gorgeous and cozy. We loved playing board games in front of it. The whole home was so indescribably beautiful and tastefully decorated. It was full of genuine family memories and stories. The beds, linens and towels were exceptionally comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed and was large and easy to use. Lots of dining space. The house is situated on a beautiful private lot surrounded by trees. About 15 minutes from Hayward. We cross-country skied and ice fished on the lake. and caught some nice walleyes and crappies. We already booked for summer as we can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine vintage yet comfortable feel
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing rustic cabin with lots of charm”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was an amazing find! Our family gathered here from three states for some skiing, ice fishing and family time. It exceeded all our expectations. Plenty of room for 10. The decorating attention to details was amazing. Fireplace, large kitchen table, modern kitchen and beautiful views and peace and quiet. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and beautifully decorated, fireplace, very comfortable
Liked least: exceeded our expections in every way, no disappointments
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJP1984
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third time back. Runamuk is simply an amazing place. So adorable, so picturesque and so cozy we never want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing