We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picture Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Runamuk Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
The porch - one of our favorite rooms...
Another photo of the porch
Outdoor dining patio
Fishing map uncovered during renovations.  Note the original owner's secret fishing spot markings.
Great sandy beach, clean and gentle sloping lake.
Beautiful sunsets; pretty lake
The best sunsets...
The living room looking towards the lake
The living room from a different angle.
The Living Room Fireplace
Sitting area
The kitchen
The kitchen from another view
The banquette dining nook (seats up to 12)
The kitchen from yet another perspective.
Master Bedroom with king-sized bed
Master bath
Main level lakeside bedroom with double bed
Main level bedroom with double bed
Main floor bath with shower/tub
Upper level lakeside bedroom with queen bed
Upper level lakeside BR dressing area
Upper level bath with shower
Upper level bedroom with two twin beds
Perfect room for kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hayward, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CJP1984
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third time back. Runamuk is simply an amazing place. So adorable, so picturesque and so cozy we never want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeandja...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Home, Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 6 woman had the pleasure of staying at Runamuck Roost for a fall weekend. The leaves had fallen, but the beauty was still there, inside and out. We took frequent walks down to the cranberry bog at the end of the lane to look for wildlife (lots of white-tailed deer). We admired the rustic perfection of our weekend home, cozied up by the fireplace, and slept great in the comfortable beds with the nice linens.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat T
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it ! Peaceful and relaxing!”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location for a relaxing weekend! The charming cabin had all of the comforts of home and plenty of space to relax and take in the views. I definitely would recommend to stay for an extended time or a long weekend!! Thoroughly enjoyed the enchanting cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic charm and condition.
Liked least: No key lock box for access and departure. Not a show stopper, just different from past rentals.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce G
lake forest, il
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Ideal Family Getaway”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were looking for a perfect getaway weekend to enjoy the fall colors. I also wanted the cozy lake home that would accommodate our family of four. This was it!! The home had all of the lake woods charm you'd ever want with every amenity. We were able to rent a boat, ATV and more with the owners that made everything hassle free. We really enjoyed the general region as well.
Really a great vacation full of great memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm matched with modern amenities
Liked least: Some construction nearby that should end soon
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buglady-P...
1 review
“Beautiful cabin with the charm of old, but all of the modern amenities.”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Spent a week at Runamuk Roost in September 2014. This cabin is fantastic! Jim and Joan's attention to detail ensures their guests will have a fabulous stay. It is spacious and includes all of the amenities of home. It is worthy of a review in Home and Garden magazine. I highly recommend this cabin for your family vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
239Lynnie...
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time with our family at this quaint place. It is decorated with special items, including a piano! A member of our family played for us. It has lots of room for a larger group, such as ours. The screen porch is a wonderful place to relax, and feel one with Nature. In fact, my husband was there when he first spotted Mama bear and her three cubs. They scurried right through the lakefront yard. Awesome. We rented the pontoon to fish, but caught plenty right off the dock. The lake water is clear, and the sunsets beautiful. Jim was very accommodating in every way. We loved staying there!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMather05...
Brookfeild
1 review
“The perfect lake house for a family gathering.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is our second time at Runamuck Roost, and it won't be our last. Amazing home, amazing location and more than you can hope for in a rental. The Taylor's are attentive owners, to say the least. This trip we rented a pontoon boat from Power Sports Ranch and weren't disappointed. I would recommend Runamuk Roost for anything from a romantic getaway to a family get together.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing