We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful. Incredible.”
other travelers have booked this property
Runamuk Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
The porch - one of our favorite rooms...
Another photo of the porch
Outdoor dining patio
Fishing map uncovered during renovations.  Note the original owner's secret fishing spot markings.
Great sandy beach, clean and gentle sloping lake.
Beautiful sunsets; pretty lake
The best sunsets...
The living room looking towards the lake
The living room from a different angle.
The Living Room Fireplace
Sitting area
The kitchen
The kitchen from another view
The banquette dining nook (seats up to 12)
The kitchen from yet another perspective.
Master Bedroom with king-sized bed
Master bath
Main level lakeside bedroom with double bed
Main level bedroom with double bed
Main floor bath with shower/tub
Upper level lakeside bedroom with queen bed
Upper level lakeside BR dressing area
Upper level bath with shower
Upper level bedroom with two twin beds
Perfect room for kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hayward, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Don H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Incredible.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was the most wonderful, charming and adorable place we have seen. Pictures don't do it justice. Extremely clean home and lake. Sandy beach, good swimming and fishing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danica L
Eleva, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beyond Our Expectations In Both Beauty and Splendor”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Wow! The photos do not do this charming detail loaded cottage justice. It's much bigger than we thought and beyond beautiful throughout. The decor is so full of artful detail, it's almost like being at a historic B & B. Not only beautiful, but very comfortable and the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Not even a single cobweb! Outside was also full of fun and beauty. Perfect cushioned patio set, andirondack chairs by fire pit, long dock with clean pontoon, swimming raft, canoe, the list goes on! Our boys caught fish after fish off the dock. There is a fantastic restaurant 1/2 mile down the road we could walk to. So much to do! We thoroughly enjoyed this gorgeous place and had a hard time leaving today. Owner Jim was a gracious host and was available with any questions we had. Thank you for opening up this amazing and beautiful place to us. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor inside and out, sunset views, cleanliness
Liked least: that I'm not there now...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liis1959
Amery, Wisconsin
1 review
“A Magical Get-away in the Northwoods”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How grateful we are to Jim and his family, for creating, maintaining and sharing their thoughtfully appointed home. The house was designed and crafted with great care. The quality and beauty is readily perceivable --- through the five senses, and in the feeling of ease (and awe) one feels from the very beginning. Each of us let out a big sigh when we walked through the front door, and savored every moment in our new home away from home. Runamuck provided a perfect container for us to connect with our adult children and their sweethearts.

Jim was great to work with. He was approachable and attentive to details (He had a fire burning in the fireplace when we arrived.)

We would love to own a northwoods cabin, but we don't want the expense and work that comes with ownership. These insights made the rental fee very reasonable! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The intangible feel of the place. It was very easy to let down and
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing