We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spider Lake Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hayward B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Spent a few days at the lodge and it is nothing short of a fairy tale. You have your space if you want it but the owners, employees, and other guests always seem to be around if you want someone to chat with or play a game. Peaceful, Relaxing, and Nothing Short of Perfect! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to "Get away from it all". Do keep in mind that there is no cell phone service, no phone in the room, and no TV. There is a house phone available for emergencies.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2007

The spider lake lodge bed and breakfast is a 1930's era lodge located in a beautiful setting on Spider Lake. Guests have access to a beach / swimming area as well as several canoes and yard games.

The guest rooms vary in size, with the smallest rooms having private baths located across the hall. None of the rooms are air conditioned which may be something to consider if you plan on staying in the summer. Some of the bathrooms could also use some fixture upgrades as well.

The breakfasts are very good and the cook, "Roz," is wonderful. The owners are also nice but are difficult to reach when trying to make reservations/inquires by phone. They do run another business though and that takes up quite a bit of their time. Due to this, we did not feel like we experienced the "personal touch" that we've received at other Bed and Breakfasts.

Overall, the Spider Lake Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful bed and breakfast, but for the price, could use some minor improvements and more personal involvement from the owners.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for three days and it's just a perfect place. The lodge itself is amazing, and the bike trails and canoing are terrific. The owners are very accommodating and friendly, but also give you your privacy. Don't miss the freshwater fishing museum in Hayward!

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank BamaB0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We just got back from a weekend at the Spider Lake Lodge in Hayward (yes, Wisconsin - and in winter!)...It was our first visit to the lodge, and we could not have had a better experience. The lodge is beautifully restored and modernized (but its character is fully-intact). The two owners have decorated it to a "T" ... every detail is perfect - luxurious, rustic, interesting and tasteful. The breakfasts were to die for (baked pear, pepper-bacon quiche, fresh juices, biscuits and coffee). The other guests at the lodge were all very friendly and easy to talk to - something that I found refreshing after visiting a couple of other bed and breakfasts in the past. It seemed like everyone was there to have a good time and to relax and rejuvenate. The area is very "vintage" Up North Wisconsin ... pubs, hearty food and drink, lots of outdoorsy things to do. I definitely recommend this lodge for anyone looking for a quiet, laid back getaway (with fabulous decor).

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daz709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2006

My husband and I visted Spider Lake Lodge for a second time. Again, it was fabulous! Wonderful, peaceful setting, charming room (this time with a deck overlooking the lake) and the kindest owners. A highlight, too, is Roz who makes fabulous breakfasts, is warm and cheery, and is willing to share her recipe for creme brulee french toast! My husband and I are set on making a visit to Spider Lake Lodge an annual tradition.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjohnson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayward hotels
14.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Hayward
191 reviews
15.9 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#15 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
14 mi away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#5 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
#14 of 15 in Hayward
74 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 15 in Hayward
65 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lenroot Lodge
Lenroot Lodge
#5 of 36 in Hayward
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spider Lake Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider Lake Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 10472 West Murphy Boulevard, Hayward, WI 54843-4024
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hayward
Price Range: $139 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no better place for outdoor enthusiasts, hopeless romantics or simply those in need of a peaceful place to unwind, than Spider Lake Lodge of Hayward, Wisconsin.Your family or friends will enjoy the casual, elegant and rustic charm of this delightful 1923 log lodge, set amongst towering pines on the shores of beautiful Spider Lake in Wisconsin’s fabled Northwoods.For more information about accommodations or winter and summer activities at The Lodge, please visit us online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spider Lake Lodge Bed And Breakfast Inn
Spider Lake Lodge Hotel Hayward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing