We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Day!”
Review of Wilderness Walk

Wilderness Walk
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun Day!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fun day, lots of different animals to see. I liked that the wild animals were just that wild. I howled at a coyote to get him to come out of his hole for a picture and he growled at me...I think it's great that they are still in their wild state, many of these animals are animals we can and will meet in our backyard and would hate for someone to think they were tame pets. Parking is lacking a bit on a busy day, but if you are creative you can find a space. You can bring a picnic lunch and spend the whole day or purchase food there. Great time for all ages. The baby animals in the nursery were adorable. Beautiful peacocks, geese, ducks roaming around amongst you. Deer will walk right up to you and you can pet them. Watching the goats is always a good time. The Western town is neat to see and there are many photo opportunities..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerngirlnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    30
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dekalb, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Exciting Adventure for the kids!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our 2 kids (6 year old twins) loved this place! It was 90 degrees when we were there, but the kids didn't complain because there was so much to look at. They enjoyed the petting zoo, where they got to pet many baby animals. Then we walked the trail around the zoo, looking at each animal in its individual enclosure. While on the trail we were approached by deer, and a really rambunctious baby goat, which made my children laugh! :) As an adult, I was saddened by some of the animals repeated pacing in their small enclosures, but our children did not notice/understand this, and so it was not a problem. There was a spot where the kids panned for gold in some icy cold water, which was well received in the heat. I would recommend wearing walking shoes, and bug spray in the park, as the area is a bit forested. This is a flexible adventure for kids of all ages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MomOTwins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our kids loved this. It was a very hot day, but lots of shade to take advantage of. Wish we had more time there. A do not miss!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun family time”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family of varying ages enjoys the Wilderness Walk. From fish and birds to bears, goats and deer, you can see a lot here. The old time village atmosphere is fun. You can spend a lot of time here wandering. You can buy corn to feed the animals for a quarter. This is a must visit when in Hayward for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat! Animals walking around freely and the ability to pet and feed was awesome:)”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Petting/feeding animals was pretty cool. Lots of animals. Don't forget to wash your hands. Didn't care for the yummy smells/odors. Piles of dung everywhere. it was like a maze trying not to step in them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MayX_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Walk also viewed

 

Been to Wilderness Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing