We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our regular spots”

The Chippewa Inn Supper Club
Ranked #20 of 82 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of our regular spots”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. It has a German flair but also great American flavors.
Try the Best of the Wurst, it's one of our favorites. Check out the back room it has the owners travel momentos +++. The atmosphere is always friendly. Ask for Kelly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg00077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Ultimate Steak and Cocktails”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been to the Chippewa many times and have never been disappointed. The supper club is clean and thoughtfully decorated. The bar is intimate and relaxed. The food rivals anything Minneapolis or Milwaukee has to offer. I have dined at every fine steak house in these fair cities, but have never had steaks like I have had here. Perfectly cooked with a salt and pepper crust that will keep you coming back time and time again. The relish plate is yummy and fun as well. I have never had a bad meal here ever. When I am in Hayward this is the bomb for evening summer dining after a day of boating and fishing!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank techfree815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, WI
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The ultimate steak”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We don't frequent expensive establishments, but the "Chip" is our choice for anniversary, birthday, or when we have out-of-town guests. I've had their schnitzel, their Kassler Ripchen (smoked pork chops), their regular pork chops, the duck and the pork hock. All are very good. But in recent visits, I try to limit myself to their better cuts of steak. This visit was the New York Strip. Ordered medium well, it was PERFECT, pink in the middle, so nicely charred. and the rub they use is just as I like it (a little on the salty side, yum!). I just can't cook a steak like this at home, so let the pros do it!
I don't usually eat much from the complimentary relish tray, as the entree portions are large, and I want to save room! But they have the traditional selection: crackers, crudites, ham spread, cheese spread, pickled peppers and herring.
Their salads are always quite good, a nice variety of greens. I often don't finish my salad (I'm a slow eater) before the entre arrives. I look at my remaining salad wistfully, but it is soon forgotten as I tackle the steak.
The bar inventory is pretty impressive, and has a "Cheers" atmosphere, with lots of regulars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VSRubato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Live piano and flute on Saturday night. Food was hot, fresh, cooked perfectly and drink selection was great. Well worth a stop!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TrixieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Definately worth the stop! The restaurant is filled with things to look at from beer steins to dollhouses. There food was great, I did have to send my steak back as it came back pretty rare when I asked for medium-well. They do a great job of explaining the history of the restaurant on the menu. Each meal includes a relish tray which was a nice treat and there was a lady who played the piano in the bar area was an added bonus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tajan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chippewa Inn Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to The Chippewa Inn Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing