We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak”

The Chippewa Inn Supper Club
Ranked #24 of 81 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hayward
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Steak”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

if you are looking for a good meat dinner look to chippewa inn the steak and lamb are very good, so are the pork chops. the owner always friendly and service at bar good

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Famous Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place around”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great steaks just the way you like them. Very friendly owners.
Always a fun place to go.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, wi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very good, but expensive”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I think it is safe to say they have the best steaks. (I do like the Ranch's toppings a bit better). Also they had a delicious piece of bacon for an appetizer when I last visited. I never had anything quite like it. Schnitzel a la Holstien is my favorite dish on the menu. The wine list is very up-to-date.

But it's expensive. Be prepared to spend 15-20 per entree.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Objectivist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of my Northwoods favorites...great food, genuine people”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've had the distinct pleasure of frequenting the Chippewa Inn for nearly a decade. I highly recommend the restaurant if you need a great piece of Northwoods Americana.

The bartender/owner Tom makes a mean Southern Comfort Old Fashioned...stop at 2, you won't remember your third.

Tom's son Eric is the chef, is highly trained, and makes some wonderful sauces (Try the Jager Schnitzel). The steaks are delicious and well prepared too.

The ambience is great...sit there and listen to the banter of a crowd of Minnesotans, Wisconsinites and a highly entertaining contingent from Illinois. A melting-pot of the midwest. Enjoy the food, drink and people after a day on the course or lake...you can't go wrong.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawlins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting place, but does not deserve such high ratings.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The biggest disappointment was the food. When charging $13 or more for 3 medium-sized scallops to add to an entree, please do not bring butter-FLAVORED oil. Everything was overpriced. The potato pancakes were exceptional, though. My wife liked the crab cakes - they were "traditional" and batter-y as opposed to the "modern" flaky kinds that I've only had. The booze was expensive for Wisconsin, too. The waitress was kind, but hard of hearing, and not patient. When asked which dressings were made in house(which seems to be none of them) she only repeated all 7 or so again. The calamari had a dense, chicken-strip-like batter, and the escargot did not taste fresh(and drowned in pesto). The steak was HIGHLY recommended by our server(she wouldn't eat one anywhere else), but it was tough. Maybe this place is cool with locals, but tourists should save their money for other higher rated places. Yikes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank r0b1nh00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chippewa Inn Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to The Chippewa Inn Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing