We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Smokes! Exquisite Cuisine in the Northwoods”
Review of The Fireside

The Fireside
Ranked #32 of 82 Restaurants in Hayward
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Award winning cuisine. 11 miles from downtown Hayward ,wi.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holy Smokes! Exquisite Cuisine in the Northwoods”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

So, beef tenderloin with foie gras and a duck egg on top...frenched chicken...a New York strip so tender it melted....really?

Yup. This place is on my top ten list of great food presentations and taste and it's not in some snobby fancy place out East. It's nestled in the northwoods area of Hayward, Wisconsin.

Living in Saint Paul we have access to world class food options throughout the entire twin cities. With a cabin about 15 miles north of The Fireside I can assure you we will be back again.

Absolutely amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank northernlightslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    8
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food In Wisconsin Northwood's”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a wonderful dinner we had in this charming Northwood's restaurant. The food was delicious and service was excellent too. Very nice Northwood's atmosphere bar and good drinks too. We will definitely return to the Fireside!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnold A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Maybe we just hit a bad night but the service was very poor. Maybe the waitress was a fill in but one of our party only wanted a salad with no dressing and so she got no salad. The relish tray was so skimpy that it was a joke. Buns were good but the butter etc to put on it was like for one person instead of 4. The food was just warm and not very flavor fill. One of our party couldn't even eat hers and I will commend them for not charging us for her meal. This place was recommended to us but we wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Very pricey also!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ITS THE BEST.... SO NICE”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our family really loved this place. It has phenomenal service, a great view, and not to mention one of the top chefs in the mid-west. The food is very high quality, ribs, fish, steak, etc. The menu meets any type of person, whether it's a 6 year old kid or a 47 year old man. Our kids also loved the old school relish tray. The scenery is also amazing, smack dab in the Northern woods. We have been there 3 times and it just keeps getting better. You can't go wrong with the Fireside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Big_MikeDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal !!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family had such great dining experience.The food from appetizers to desserts was OUTSTANDING.Excelent wine list as well. Looking forward to our next time already!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside also viewed

 

Been to The Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing