We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Costock
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 11:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful experience

Having been to another pub for lunch and walking out after receiving appalling customer service, we... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
cheeseboyUk
,
uk
via mobile
GB - The Great Britton

Myself and wife visiting the area to help our son and partner move to their new flat, decided to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
davebu2016
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
46
7
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
46
7
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village pub pork belly haddock feel so welcome generous briton sunday lunch booked a table bacon lovely pub great beer visited today lovely staff be visiting again on arrival gb menu refurb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kept saying we need to try this place out, absolutely fantastic, beautifully presented, very tasty, good quality food. We wasn’t disappointed at all, only that we should of gone sooner! We will definitely be back!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank SamMc1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBCostock, Owner at The Generous Briton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review it is greatly appreciated, hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Been going there since it first re-opened and have never been disappointed. Interior and decoration has that touch of design class that is not overstated and makes you feel comfortable and at home. Staff very friendly and well picked, food lovely and good value for money with pie night a must ! Definitely the best pub in the area and have been there a lot with friends who all feel the same way about it, well done !

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Dilys1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBCostock, Owner at The Generous Briton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Dilys1959, thank you for your lovely review, your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all of the staff. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019 via mobile

Went for my 1st time on Sat at 3pm.
My daughter had been before with her boyfriend and she liked it enough for both sets of parents to meet each other for the 1st time.
This is a lovely country pub and we had a table near open log fire.
Staff were very attentive and their was a good drinks choice.
The food menu was excellent and the only reason I haven’t marked as 5 is that they ran out of Rack of lamb and the Cheesecake wasn’t as on menu which were very small things.
Would definately return!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Jimdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBCostock, Owner at The Generous Briton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jimdraper, thank you for taking time to write us a review and we are sorry that we ran out of the Rack of Lamb (it proved to be a very popular dish and we only cook from fresh) also the cheesecake :( again is made fresh but as we are getting so much busier the answer is we will just have to make more ! hopefully we will see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

We decided to eat out for our evening meal and thought we would try The Generous Briton. The place is cosy and welcoming and we were welcomed by two very nice young ladies who were cheerful and helpful. The menu is quite comprehensive and reasonably priced. The food was exceptionally good both in quality and presentation. Both the blade of beef and the belly pork were fabulous. The whole experience was really nice and we have no hesitation in recommending this pub/restaurant.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank thardingha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBCostock, Manager at The Generous Briton, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Hi thardingha, thank so much for taking the time to write us such a great review and recommending us to others. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

I’m a regular drinker in this lovely pub, but it’s the first time I have had Sunday lunch, I went along with my son and we both had the roast beef it was so yummy and a good portion I can highly recommend it!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank 196KevinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBCostock, Manager at The Generous Briton, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Thank you 196KevinT for your lovely review, its appreciated that you have taken the time to write about your visit. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews