We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new fish fry place”
Review of Cedar Lake Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cedar Lake Inn
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Our new fish fry place”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Last night my wife and I stopped at Wegners Cedar Lake Inn for dinner. Our first challenge was eating inside or on the patio. We choose inside at a table overlooking Cedar Lake.

We were seated quickly and greeted by our waitress within a minute. She reviewed the specials and asked if we'd like something to drink. We ordered a cocktail and studied the menu. Not a big menu but the items on the menu sounded good and may be homemade. We both choose the perch fish fry special with potato pancakes.

Although the restaurant was busy with several groups the food arrived in less than 10 minutes. The portions looked small but looked tasty. The first bite of fish confirmed it was hot and tasty. Lightly breaded with flour and cooked to perfection. The potato pancakes were homemade and very good tasting. Perhaps the best I've had in a long time. Even the Cole slaw was well prepared. We finished every bite of food.

Soon the waitress was back with a desert tray. We opted to share a piece of cheese cake with chocolate and Carmel topping along with hot coffee. Both were good.

The price was a bit higher than a usual fish fry but well worth the price. We'll be back may times!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DetailsByBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wegners Cedar Lake Inn”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my evening. Sat on the outdoor patio for several hours. Nachos and pizza great. Margaritia's perfect. Husband said beer was very good. Owner - Larry was very friendly. Will be back again

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
undisclosed
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good fish fry!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We really enjoy the fish fry here! They are also one of the few places that serve sweet potato fries if that is something you are hankering for!

Helpful?
1 Thank doitl8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great view of Big Cedar Lake, delish dinners, friendly service”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The tuna appetizer with jicama slaw is wonderful change from the regular breaded and fried fare. It is hard to pick a favorite between that and the scallops! Their pizza is fantastico and full of fresh ingredients - it's hard to choose between that and the lobster risotto, Definitely worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, wi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Lousy foor, poor service, over priced, boring food. Chef Ramsey might want to feature them on Kitchen Nightmares next year. We were scouting out the place in advance of a party for 20 people to be held in June, and its decided that we won't be booking it there!

My wife ordered a shrimp and scallop dish over pasta, and there were only 3 shrimp and 1 scallop cut into 4 pieces, all for $18. My $26 prime rib was not prime. Bland, undercooked on one end and over cooked on the other. She got a mild case of food poisoning, so much so that we had to stop 3 times on the way home. Not fun. I just felt ripped off.

The Linden Inn used to be a nice place. This misses the mark on so many levels. Bad atmosphere, lousy music, food, and service. I'm just gals we wnet there befor subjecting the other 18 members of our family to this place.

Don't waste your time on this one.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerPlymouth_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Lake Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing